We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value stay in New Plymouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 16 Havelock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
16 Havelock
Ranked #6 of 24 New Plymouth B&B and Inns
Auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best value stay in New Plymouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

My wife and i were unfortunately only spending 1 night in New Plymouth, but so glad we found this place. Brad and Fujiko couldn't have been more welcoming and friendly hosts. The room was spotless, comfortable, as were all the facilities. Breakfast included probably the best scrambled eggs I've ever eaten!

Although the b&b isn't right in the city centre, it's only a couple of minutes easy drive away - will definitely stay here from now on when visiting New Plymouth.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJR33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
33
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Picton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

Stayed with Brad and Fujiko mid January 2012. We had a great stay, the welcome couldn't have been better, they are really nice people and you felt as if you were in your home, not just a B & B. I would recommend their home to anyone staying in the New Plymouth area, and would
certainly re-visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

I stayed in the little kids room :) at the back of the house and it was just what I needed. Best of all was the company of Brad and Fujiko and their efforts to make my time there so much more enjoyable.

Reminded me why I dislike hotels so much when you can have a really relaxed and friendly atmosphere to hang out in with all the facilities and more you would get at a hotel (so long as you are comfortable using a shared toilet / bath in hallway).

Service even went as far a Brad taking the time to show me the local surf breaks and Fujiko providing a delicious meal without a second thought despite not giving any notice. I even got to have some Kimchi (한국분이시면 김치 뭔지 잘 아실거죠..^^)

Also made use of the massage chair which I have long been sceptical about - I am no longer sceptical....

Anyway I would certainly look them up for when I am next in town and recommend it for anyone who wants to relax and the place you stay at.

Lewis

Room Tip: If you want simple and functional then the little room out the back is fine. You have the rest of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Lovely and intimate bed & breakfast very close to the central city. Brad and Fujiko are the most wonderful hosts - warm, welcoming, and full of enthusiasm for the local area. Staying here was just like visiting with friends. We felt right at home! Very affordable, immaculately clean, and extremely comfortable place to stay. The breakfasts were lovely and the three course Japanese meal prepared by Fujiko was delicious. HIghly recommended!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katielane6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

This was such a pleasant place for us to stay on our short trip to New Plymouth. The hosts are very accommodating. The rooms were clean, warm and comfortable. Breakfast was really yum, with lot's of options (go the scrambled eggs with avo). Thanks

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We had not stayed in a B&B for years and I don't know why after having a sensational time at 16 Havelock. Brad and "Iron Chef" Fujiko are the perfect hosts. The room was 5 star with the best bed we have slept in for a long time. There is a large common lounge which has views of both the ocean and Mount Taranaki. Fujiko's Japanese massage chair is wonderful after spending the day walking around New Plymouth. Both the breakfast and optional dinners are of a very high standard. I don't think I can face store bought sushi after enjoying it freshly made by Fujiko! 16 Havelock is great value for money and I highly recommend it as your accommodation for your visit to New Plymouth.

Room Tip: The twin King is the largest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

First time we have stayed in a B&B in NZ. Queen bedroom was so comfortable and the breakfast delicious. Brad and Fujika are a lovely couple and so welcoming. Definitely will be avoiding motel rooms in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ZanneRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.7 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tivoli Homestay
Tivoli Homestay
#1 of 24 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Arcadia Lodge
Arcadia Lodge
#8 of 24 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hosking House
Hosking House
#3 of 24 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.6 mi away
Asure Saddle and Sulky Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 16 Havelock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 16 Havelock

Property: 16 Havelock
Address: 16 Havelock Place, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 16 Havelock 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer traditional Bed and Breakfast service.Each morning you will have a literal smorgasbord of seasonal breakfast foods to choose from, hot and cold, fresh and cooked.Our entire goal is to make your stay with us feel as much like home as possible. Whether your trip is a romantic getaway, a family adventure, a business venture, or just a visit, 16 Havelock Bed and Breakfast New Plymouth is your one-of-a-kind fully serviced accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your 16 Havelock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing