We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous addition” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coastal Walkway

Coastal Walkway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Utterly spectacular 11km long walkway along the seafront in New Plymouth, New Zealand. Walk, ride skate or scoot from Bell Block in the north to Port Taranaki to the south taking in the stunning Te Rewa Rewa Bridge, three swimming beaches, a golf club, rolling farm land, rivers and various accessways to residential and shopping areas.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fabulous addition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I've just spent almost two weeks in New Plymouth and each day, the dog and I explored a different portion of the walkway. There is so much to see it is very easy to walk further than intended - wish that would happen at home!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ci_bach_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    858
    203
    21
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely walk with beautiful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Its a lovely place to walk and take in the sea views. There is a french cafe along the way. Its not overly touresty but very poplular.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawera
Level Contributor
308 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A Jewel in Taranakis Crown ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We started our walk at the Wind Wand and wandered towards East End Beach. The walkway is wide flat and easy going a mixture of boardwalk and concrete. It is a shared footpath for walkers and cyclists and was pretty busy on a Wednesday afternoon.

The day was beautiful, the sea and surf were pounding on your left and the whole city is curved out before you. Great photo ops! We walked 1.7 kms in about 30 mins and arrived at East End Reserve on the banks of the Te Henui river. There is an outdoor seasonal pop up container cafe there and we had a coffee and a cake in the sun before wandering back. Nice small walk from the city and well worth it. Made me want to hire a bike and do the rest if the 11 kms......will certainly do it another day.

Helpful?
Thank RocheMaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“staying in Fitzroy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed in Fitzroy after the 2014 WOMAD Fest.

The accom. Was minutes from the coastal walkway. what a great asset to New Plymouth (NP). A lovely walk into the town centre - check out the container cafe on the way! - away from the traffic and great to commune with the sea.

also good to walk the beach when the tide is out and the walk the path home.

well done the visionary who got this project built!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A truely great walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is a magnificent facility and investment by the New Plymouth city and lots of local businesses. Such wonderful views and refreshment places and a great place to meet people. Lots of parks alongside and obviously enjoyed by old and young and everyone in between.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tm_bevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Walkway also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Coastal Walkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing