We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back”
Review of Flame

Flame
Ranked #55 of 169 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Inspired by the heritage dishes of India and Punjab, Flame is a window into the ancient culinary world of the North West of Southern Asia; a jewel in the heart of New Plymouth’s CBD. Our enticing menu selection features entrees, curries, banquets and desserts; all delivering a tantalising taste of the East infused with Flame’s fresh, modern, flavour twist. Fancy a light snack and a Lassi? Feel like curry with a freshly-baked naan bread (our spinach and cheese is incredible)? Or want to take full advantage of our Gourmet or Family Banquet? Take your pick and remember not to leave town without also trying Flame’s “Good Times” Sizzling Platter… It’s legendary! So, whatever your appetite, mood or fancy join us for an unforgettable dining experience and your very own delicious, twisty, Flame-infused memory of New Plymouth to take with you.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I'll be back”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went for dinner on Friday night expecting to have to wait around to be seated but were pleasantly surprised when we were seated right away. We were able to enjoy our meal and drinks without being rushed and the food was superb. That was the first time we have been there and will be back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    25
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

smack in the center of town a meal out at Flame will not dissapoint
good quality Indian food in one of the most pleasant dining rooms
enjoy

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Working toward excellence.”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have eaten regularly at Flame over the last three years and they have always tried hard but have not always quite got there. (Service was so bad the first time we went that they said we needn't pay!) The food has been consistently good, however, so we always go back.
Recently they have updated the look and the menu - it is now very cosy and welcoming and the staff are as delightful as ever.
Last week I ate Lamb Nawabi and I think it was the best Indian meal I have ever tasted - my partner enjoyed his but he had ordered "hot" and he says it wasn't. He didn't break into a sweat so he must be right.
My only small quibbles: being from the UK we were used to a free poppadum and relish while we look over the menu, and the dishes of rice are just a bit too small - we order three between two of us. I would recommend everybody to try Flame and say "hi" to Money - he is an excellent host.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NgamotoLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The menu and decor where amazing. An experience that locals know of but visitors need to try. You won't be disappointed, also a menu to suit all tastes.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Boney22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Always enjoyable”
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Consistently good Indian food. Fun place to eat, and the service is usually helpful and friendly. They try hard to present themselves as a little bit different and I think it works. Well worth a try

Helpful?
Thank PedroNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flame also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Flame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing