We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pukekura Motor Lodge
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in a two bedroom apartment. The apartment was modern, well appointed and absolutely spotless. We loved the double blinds and blackout curtains in all rooms (children slept in both mornings - bonus). We found the apartment to be quiet, even with another family with small children next door, there was no noise through walls. Staff were all friendly and helpful. On checking out we accidentally left a much loved toy behind and they called us straight after we left to let us know. Was close to the Festival of Lights in Pukekura Park and an easy short drive into the city centre. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieONZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Pukekura Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Hi Julie. Thank you for a Great review of our family unit. We appreciate the great comments and look forward to seeing you again when you are next in New Plymouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 101 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

We needed a room with disability access provided, and they delivered. The room was a bit larger than their adjoining standard rooms, so you could actually get around inside in a wheelchair. The benches and equipment were all down low so they could be reached from the wheelchair. There was easy access to the shower and toilet. The furnishings were excellent and quite new. The house-keeping was to a very high standard. And all this came at what we thought was a quite reasonable price.
And the Festival of Lights in the nearby Pukekura Park, the reason we had detoured to New Plymouth in the first place, was a first rate show and quite wheelchair-friendly in the parts that we got to.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Pukekura Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you Chris for your great comments about our Access Facilities. We look forward to having you stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed here for the Taranaki Around the Mountain Relay this year as part of a work trip with my partner, an excellent place to spend a few nights, well equipped, modern and comfortable. I had no room service nor am I aware of the room price but based on the features I would have no issue staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chadvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Pukekura Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to review our property and love your positive comments. We look forward to having you stay again when you are next in New Plymouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed in the lodge for a week for a business trip. It was very comfortable and clean and the staff were helpful and friendly. It is a little bit far from the shops and restaurants if you walk. we had a car so just 5 minutes' drive. The 2 bedrooms apartment was big enough for three of us. It has a bed/sofa in the living area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Pukekura Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Hi Daniel. Thank you for a great review of our Property. We appreciate you taking the time and we love your great comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have not travelled to New Plymouth for work before, so was not sure what to expect. My hosts were very welcoming with a warm, friendly but professional manner. My hosts went out of their way to ensure my trip went smoothly.
My room was as neat as a pin, with subtle decor and a thoughtful layout. The bathroom was beautifully tiled and immaculate.
I usually travel each week for work, and stay in a range of accommodation, including one of the top hotels in Wellington. The service and room standard I experienced has made Pukekura Motel one of my best work related travel experiences.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becksc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Pukekura Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Wow thank you so much for a great Review. It is nice to know when we are doing well and we appreciate your wonderful feedback. We look forward to hosting you again when you are next in New Plymouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed in a studio unit and thought that the quality was very good for the price. Quiet location and the room had everything we needed for our stay and was spotlessly clean and with modern decor. The hosts were lovely to deal with as well. Overall very good value for money and I've already recommended it to others.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank GingerKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Pukekura Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Hi. Thanks for your great review. We would love to have you stay when you are visiting New Plymouth again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Absolutely LOVED staying at Pukekura Motor Lodge in New Plymouth! The owners are so lovely and bend over backwards for their guests. We stayed two nights and the room was clean and was serviced on our 2nd day with fresh towels and clean plates, cups etc. Would definitely recommend this place as it's close to town as well as being a fantastic deal!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rapunzel1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Pukekura Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Hi. Thanks for your great review. We would love to have you stay when you are visiting New Plymouth again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.8 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
265 reviews
2.5 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
349 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
0.7 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#4 of 30 in New Plymouth
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pukekura Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pukekura Motor Lodge

Address: 141 Coronation Avenue, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range: $104 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pukekura Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly welcome awaits you at Pukekura Motor Lodge, New Plymouth’s Motor Lodge where we provide superior self –contained motel accommodation. Our quiet, central location is just 2km to New Plymouth’s town centre where you will find great shopping and a wide range of excellent cafe's, restaurants and bars. A short stroll to the Bowl of Brooklands, Pukekura Park and the famous seaside walkway in New Zealand’s rugged West Coast of the North Island makes Pukekura Motor Lodge the perfect location for business, family, and holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pukekura Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing