We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, modern, clean, friendly service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pukekura Motor Lodge
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, modern, clean, friendly service!”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Arrived with no prior booking, given upstairs unit, which was large, bright, clean, up to date decor. Fantastic nights sleep, quiet, with nil noise from next unit.
I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max1scully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Pukekura Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again when you are next in New Plymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
24
2
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I stayed here last weekend with my parents while attending my cousins wedding. They had a 2 bed unit and I had a studio unit. Both rooms were huge. My studio must have been twice the size of a 4 star hotel room. I usually go for a hotel over a motel as I like a cooked room service breakfast and the odd soda from the mini bar. To my surprise Pukekura motor lodge had both. I had the eggs benedict both mornings and while not being the best I have ever had. It was good and I have had far worse from 4 or 5 star hotels. Apart from this the place is modern and very clean. I went to hotel school many years ago and I always remember being told every new guest should feel like they are the first person ever to use that room. Thats a hard ask but I can honestly say that this property lives up to that. Good work guys I will be back

Room Tip: If your a single or couple ask for a upstairs studio room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank webbstsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Pukekura Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and it means a great deal to us that you can appreciate the hard work we have put in to making our guests feel welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stay here with our 2 children when visiting family in New Plymouth. It is modern, clean and really well equipped - you can book porta-cots and highchairs if required. The 2 bedroom units offer plenty of space for a family in a convenient central location. It's a short walk (or even shorter drive) to Pukekura Park and the CBD. Everything we could have asked for plus great, friendly service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megsy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Pukekura Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed over the New Years weekend and were very happy with the stay. We had free internet and paid for a larger bathroom.

We were very happy with our stay

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Pukekura Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I went for a two bedroom unit which was very clean and modern with all the amenities which you would need. The unit was towards the back of the property so there was no noise heard from the road. Instead of having a normal door, the is a slide door which you use to access the room and attached is a pull down blind which is not very practical and provides no privacy from other rooms or the car park when open. A huge bathroom and a tv in each bedroom was a added bonus.

The location is good, with the town just being about a 10-15min walk away. Was nice to stay somewhere for a change where wi-fi was provided free and the extensive TV channels was a nice extra.

I do have to mention the beds. They were amazing!! Some of the best I've stayed in, which made it very difficult to get up early the following morning. :)
I originally booked a one bedroom, but a friend joined me at the last minute so I requested via email a change to a two bedroom unit, and it was no hassle at all.

I was very happy with my stay here for one night, and would definitely consider another stay here if I was in the area again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road if possible as there is less noise and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilspark80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekura, Manager at Pukekura Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Hi Thank you for your stay with us. We have now put up Drapes (Curtains) in our units so this will assist with the privacy issue. Thank you for the comments about our beds as we know they are the best beds and give a great nights sleep. We would love to see you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

A basic, clean and modern motel ideal for short business stays. The rooms are an average size but have all the essentials. The rooms are not that private meaning you have to have the blinds shut all the time to get the privacy.

Free wi-fi and the number of Sky channels are a bonus. Also very good location to walk in to town for an evening meal.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms away from the road and up the stairs as these are a little more private tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekura, Manager at Pukekura Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Hi Thank you for your stay with us. We have now put up Drapes (Curtains) in our units so this will assist with the privacy issue. We would love to see you visit us again next time you are in Taranaki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
232 reviews
2.5 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
281 reviews
1.0 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pukekura Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pukekura Motor Lodge

Property: Pukekura Motor Lodge
Address: 141 Coronation Avenue, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pukekura Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly welcome awaits you at Pukekura Motor Lodge, New Plymouth’s newest luxury Motor Lodge where we provide superior self –contained motel accommodation and an air-conditioned conference and meeting venue.Our quiet, central location is just 2km to New Plymouth’s town centre where you will find great shopping and a wide range of excellent cafe's, restaurants and bars. A short stroll to the Bowl of Brooklands, Pukekura Park and the famous seaside walkway in New Zealand’s rugged West Coast of the North Island makes Pukekura Motor Lodge the perfect location for business, family, holidays, meetings and conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pukekura Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing