We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“genuine coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chaos Cafe

Chaos Cafe
Ranked #13 of 164 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
“genuine coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

wish to have this coffe all time specially in early morning amazing flavour great menu to choose with I am trucky man so I know about good coffe and kiwi breakfast

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank al s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    59
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled across this place while here on business and it's become my breakfast stop off every time I'm in New Plymouth.
Great food(menu and cabinet range), good coffee, friendly staff and welcoming atmosphere.
Plenty of gluten free options too.


Helpful?
Thank knotyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haweras
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Chaos, its not as you think A great lady owns this, Kerry who comes out to talk to all the customers. The food is excellent and the service fantastic. Its where I have breakfast each time I stay in New Plymouth. Great for lunch also.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DOS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great for Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We go there a lot for breakfast while on business. It is a busy cafe, with a good offering of cabinet food as well as kitchen food cooked to order. Good coffee, and decent service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank buds_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Was just ok, but didnt only have some cake and tea”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Visited this cafe based on the good trip advisor reviews. A cool old building, spacious inside with mixed seating couches, chairs, bar stools etc. Was quite busy when we visited. Quite a lot of cabinet food to choose from plus black board menu. Was just after some cake and a cup of tea so can't comment on the food in general. The cake i did have was on the dry side, tea was fine. One thing that bugged me is the slightly loud 'cafe' music. Seemed a bit loud for 11 in the morning on top of all the people talking, and I’m under 30. Also girls behind the counter might have been having a bad day but they were less than friendly. Probably need to give it another go someday to give it a fair chance.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaos Cafe also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Chaos Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing