We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice central location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Landmark Manor Motel

Landmark Manor Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Landmark Manor Motel
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Nice central spot in close walking distance to town and PK park. Management were very helpful with what's on in town. Room was plain but in very tidy condition. Great value for the $130 per night we paid for our ground floor studio with cooking facilities.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hurricane08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rex W, Owner at Landmark Manor Motel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
thans for writing a review, and we are pleased that you were happy with your choice of a motel to stay at.
Location is great for many things to walk, pukekura park, the walkway, town to name a few.
Should you come back to New Plymouth we would love to provide you with your accommodation again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    46
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
65
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

A very pleasant and convenient location just outside downtown, within easy walking distance for the city main streets. The room was easily adequate and clean, the management very helpful. Easy to drive to and from the main highways, with good off street parking beneath one of the largest trees I've ever seen (a sight in itself).

Would stay again next trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ARMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rex W, Owner at Landmark Manor Motel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thanks you for writing a review about Landmark Manor. The location is great as it is close to cafe's, town etc.
Sorry the Pohutukawa tree was not in flower for youto see it.
Hope the rst of your trip went well and look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to New Zealand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

A great example of why travellers love our country. Incredibly welcoming despite out not having booked and we were given complimentary muffins, still warm from the oven and offered a morning paper, as well as being shown to our room by a delightful little boy. Large comfortable studio complete with super king bed and extremely well appointed while being well priced. Would return and recommend unreservedly.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rex W, Owner at Landmark Manor Motel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Hi and thanks for the review, the grandson just loved the bit about him.
Muffins are offered to all, whether you have booked or just drive on up, we treat you all the same. It it great that the room was to your liking, have all that you needed for your night's stay and thank you for the recommendation.
We would certainly love to host you again on your next visit New Plymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children (8, and 12). We stayed in the family suite and have already recommended this motel to friends and family. The Motel supplies everything a family could want from good kitchen facilities and utensils to a TV in each room of the suite and free WiFi. The suite is spacious and everything is very clean. The location is very handy and whilst the Motel is in the middle of the city there is no outside noise heard from the suite.

A great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vcs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rex W, Owner at Landmark Manor Motel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi to you all and thanks for taking the time to complete a review about Landmark Manor Motel and such a great one.
Great to see that the TV's got used in the bedrooms as well as in the lounge and yes we try to supply things guests found they need while on holiday.
Hope you all enjoyed your holiday in New Zealand and should you revisit New Plymouth we wolud love to host you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was the first accommodation destination for the start our annual holiday and it set a mad mood for the rest our journey.

I made an online booking through the hotel website at around 10:30pm the night before our arrival (as we're very busy with our business and didn't have time to do it earlier and since it's just in country travel anyway). I admit that I only read all the positive reviews on TripAdvisor and didn't carefully read the hotel's policies when making the online booking, so when it asked the number of adults I put down 2 (we're a couple with two young kids aged 7 and 8 yrs) as it doesn't have option to insert the kids. On arrival, we told the owner that we also have two kids but only to receive a grim response that they're not allow to share the room with us because the hotel has a very STRICT policy on the number of people (they stressed on the word PEOPLE and not ADULT and KID) staying in the room. We felt hopeless in seeking their hospitable compromise so we asked if they have a larger unit that allows the four of us to stay together, but all were occupied. Leaving us with no option we asked if we could cancel the booking (it was about 5pm), we're told we won't be charged if the room could be sold that night as the motel's cancellation policy is 24 hrs in advance, but the booking was made at 10:30pm the night before so there was no option for us should we wished to cancel. As the conversation was leading nowhere and we didn't want our kids to spend their holiday in the street that night so we left in order to search for another place and told the owner we'd come back to check if the room was sold so we won't be charged. After being able to find a room and prepare dinner for our kids, we went back to the motel at around 9:05pm but the reception was shut and we had no idea whether the room was sold or not, so didn't bother and returned to our motel for some sleep after a long road trip from Auckland.

To our surprise, when we check our online bank account two days later we realised that the motel has charged us one full night through the Visa card supplied for the reservation without notifying us at all, not even a courtesy text message to alert that we've been charged. We didn't expect this kind of treatment from someone in the hospitality industry. This is the worse travel experience I've had so far and it spoiled an otherwise wonderful family holiday after a long year of hard work.

So be very careful when you make an online booking at this property or better call them up to check how many people would be allow in a unit.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KC K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rex W, Owner at Landmark Manor Motel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to carry out your threat to write a bad review for Landmark Manor Motel.

When the booking was made it was done through our website for a studio unit "Twin Share", 2x single beds and this is how the unit was made up and presented to you. You did not book a family unit which allows for extra guests at time of booking.

Upon your arrival we noticed that there was not only two guests that the booking was for, but in fact there were four of you. It was explained to you that the room sleeps only 2 guests, however you wanteed to have a look so were shown the room.
To put four guests in that room does the follow:
1/ Puts my building WOF and insurance at risk
2/ Health & Safety reasons, we can't do it.
3/ Comfort of guests.

You wanted to talk to your wife about it, came back into the office and told me that you will ring us "Within One Hour". It was at that point you were told that we may have to charge you if you don't require it and may be harder to sell as it was single beds. however if we had enough notice we could put it into a king bed and try to sell it once you had confirm it was no longer required. it was at this point of time you were told that if we couln not sell it then we would charge you as it was the last room we had left. Your reply was and I qoute "I UNDERSTAND"

If you had rang us back within that hour we could have made it back into a king size bed and sold it, but you never did, so legally we had a contract to you for one twin share room for one night.

If you had taken the time to read our T'rems & Condition's it appears there as well.

I was in the office doing the daily paper work until 9.00pm, the time we close you had not inform us so I closed the office, once again office hours are on oyur booking confirmation, as well as the office door. At 9.05pm the office light would have still been on, no-one pressed the after hours door bell either.

It was due to the fact we had a contrat with you, you appearedf as a no show, hence the charge.

It was mentioned in your threating email to us that you ran a hotel at some stage, so maybe more of a suprise to us that you wrote this review as you would/should have had a cancellation policy as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Having to be in New Plymouth on an unplanned trip I managed to secure a night's stay at this fabulous motel. What a relief to unwind, watch the cricket on their large TV and spend a most comfortable night relaxing. The black out curtains were a particular treat as I am such a light sleeper and I was not disturbed at all by any street or security lighting. The bathrooms are very luxurious with everything a last-minute traveler needs and extremely clean. The water pressure in the shower was fantastic - one of the best I've experienced. I enjoyed my stay so much I extended for another 4 nights. Thanks very much Rex and Marina - the muffins were gorgeous as was the cat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrangeLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rex W, Owner at Landmark Manor Motel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hi Bernie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Landmark Manor Motel.
Marina & I are pleased that you found it to you satisfaction and extended you stay with us.
It's really good that the black curtains work.
We will as with all reviews pass it on to our great housekeepers to write as it is a boost to them when they see great comments about their housekeeping. We both look forward to hosting you again should you visit New Plymouth again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkworth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We booked the night before arriving and found it a most central and great motel to stay at.
The custom we received was fantastic and we also had a motorbike which was put under cover.
We will certainly stay here again upon our return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rex W, Owner at Landmark Manor Motel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hi Kathryn,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.
Great that you found the location and the motel to your liking, and the offer to park your bikes under the carport is there for your next visit to New Plymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.6 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.4 mi away
BKs Egmont Motor Lodge
BKs Egmont Motor Lodge
#20 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Manor Motel

Property: Landmark Manor Motel
Address: 72 Leach Street, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Landmark Manor Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located & close to CBD, supermarkets, cafes/restaurants, coastal walkway and all major attractions. Our decor is modern; all suites include a chaise lounge and super king beds to ensure comfort, rest and relaxation. All units have air conditioning/heat pumps, double glazed windows, 32" LCD TVs and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Landmark Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing