We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the best campsite views. Full stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2013

As a campervan owner, I've stayed in several campsites in NZ. Belt Road has to have some of the best camping views of any I've been to. Situated in an elevated position above the coast, the expansive water views are a pleasure to wake up to.

The facilities are fine, and very well kept but when I took a shower, I left my dirty clothes on the floor, only for a huge puddle to develop and soak them all. Overall a very nice experience though.

Sadly I'm unlikely to visit very often in the future as we usually travel with our dog and the campsite doesn't allow them (was without pooch on this occasion).

Room Tip: If you're camping, ask for a waterfront site :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeltRdSeasideHP, Owner at Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Thank you for your comments and feedback. We will look into the shower issue you mentioned and you will be pleased to know that we have new facilities in the planning right now. We look forward to seeing you again at Belt Road Holiday Park to enjoy the views again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 166 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

This was my second stay at the Belt Road Motor Camp. I actually changed me travel dates so i could stay here, as the previous week they were fully booked.
I wouldnt stay anywhere else in New Plymouth, as this place is just so quiet and comfortable, but its the views that cap it off.
Look, if you are really picky, and want 5 star luxury, then dont come here. But if you want the best views in town, a comfortable and quiet nights sleep, and friendly staff, then this is the place for you.
Yes you have to bring a sheet and duvet (or rent from the office) and a bar of soap...is that a big deal? There was a fridge and microwave and all other things you may need in the cabin. It was so clean and bright, the bed was comfy, I could lay in the bed and watch the new TV on the wall at the end of my bed, or look out to the sea which is right in front of my door.
They have new bikes for rent at $5 an hour, so you can ride the walkway which is something you have to do, its outstanding. Also visit Pukekura Park, which is the best city park in New Zealand, and its start at almost the city center.
I went to a buffet restaurant which is on Devon Street West and it costs $17, and the it is one of the best buffets I have been to. Ask the staff at the Motor camp, they will give you the address.
Anyway look at my photos of the views from my front door.....I will surely be back again one day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bellettboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeltRdSeasideHP, Manager at Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are having stunning weather at the moment, so it makes our breathtaking sea views really unbeatable. Cycling the walkway is a New Plymouth must do and you couldn't have chosen a better day for it! Also we were glad to be able to enhance your stay by recommending dining options and cycling route tips. We look forward to seeing you back at the park again. Merry Christmas and all the best for 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Came to New Plymouth for a two night stay and booked because close to the harbour and city centre. Check in efficient and the cabin- 2 bedroom and new was very comfortable. Great value for the money and would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Get one of the new cabins. Clean,comfortable and great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was our second stay at Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park and we highly recommend it. We often visit New Plymouth and have found the self-contained cabins/units are great alternative to booking a hotel. The staff were very helpful when we had to change our dates last minute and the cabin itself was very clean with a great view looking straight out to the ocean. Note - It's not far from the main centre but recommend having a car to get around from here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megsbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent a wonderful night here on our trip north. We parked on the cliff overlooking the sea and wharf area. we were in a camper but used the facilities including kitchen which were good and well serviced. We will stay there again, even if we have to make a long detour!! we want to spend more time there as the area needs our exploration.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterLook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Hubby and I stayed in one of the one bedroom self contained units on the hill with fab views of the Ocean and Port and Lees Breakwater,we even got up early in the morning to watch a boat come into Port,it came right in,almost in front of our Cabin too. Very clean facilities and very handy to the walkway,we enjoyed our quiet break and intend to come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 183Robyn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaB8, Owner at Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thanks for your review. We value your feedback and look forward to your return. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I have stayed at this camp twice in recent months. Both times stayed in self contained unit. Very clean facilities and very helpful staff. The camp is centrally located within New Plymouth so we could walk to town, down the breakwater. The mountain can be seen from the camp - it looked glorious. Great to look out over the port and watch all the comings and goings. A very relaxing stay in a warm and well appointed unit. thank you for another great visit. I will be back.

Room Tip: Good for a sea view and to watch ships enter and leave the port. Sunny porch to sit on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neneen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Plymouth
0.8 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
245 reviews
1.2 mi away
Egmont Eco Lodge
Egmont Eco Lodge
#26 of 30 in New Plymouth
43 reviews
0.8 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Fitzroy Beach Holiday Park
Fitzroy Beach Holiday Park
#3 of 16 in New Plymouth
112 reviews
7.4 mi away
Oakura Beach Holiday Park
Oakura Beach Holiday Park
#5 of 44 in Taranaki Region
93 reviews
2.9 mi away
New Plymouth Top 10 Holiday Park
New Plymouth Top 10 Holiday Park
#11 of 16 in New Plymouth
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park

Address: 2 Belt Road, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in New Plymouth
Price Range: $74 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing