We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value, location great for beach, less so for town centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fitzroy Beach Motel
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very good value, location great for beach, less so for town centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

The location of this motel is ideal for Fitzroy beach but it is almost 2 miles from the centre of New Plymouth. If you do not want to drive then the Coastal Walkway provides a pleasant way to get into town or a taxi costs about NZD 13.

We had a Deluxe One Bedroom Unit which consisted of a reasonable size bedroom and large living areas and bathroom. In general it was well equipped and furnished and unusually there was a full size oven (as well as microwave and hob). In the bedroom there was a large wardrobe but only two small bedside units for other clothes etc. The shower was above the bath with a shower curtain.

The only outside space was looking into the carpark and the views from all our windows were either the car park or fences.

For the price we thought this was very good value.

If one reason you are visiting New Plymouth is to go to art galleries be warned that the (reportedly excellent) Govett-Brewster Gallery is closed for rebuilding until some time in 2015 and the Real Tart Gallery is closed on Mondays.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PercyVeerance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    39
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
66
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

An excellent place to stay, five minutes' walk from the beach and five minutes by car from town. We had a one-bedroom suite with very comfortable lounge/kitchenette. The kitchenette had hotplates, microwave and kettle as well as sufficient cutlery, crockery and pans. You would think twice about trying to do any extensive cooking, but everything needed for preparing simple snacks or for eating and heating takeaways was available. Excellent quality of consumables supplied - tea, coffee, milk, etc. - and spotless rooms.
Very friendly and obliging owners/managers, and a bonus was the availability of quite reasonable, geared bicycles, free of charge, which we used for exploring the waterside walk/bikeway. The only minor criticisms I have relate to the design of the suite we were in, which had a bathroom with a curtained shower in the centre, ensuring that the whole bathroom floor became wet after a shower. This was a minor blot on an otherwise highly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbanePassionfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Great stay - very good location close (walking distance) to the surf beach. Staff were super helpful and rooms were clean and tidy. The beach side walkway was less than 10 minutes walk away and you can head north or south daily for a great hike.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annieb107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

It wasn't exactly beach weather but the rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed and the motel was quiet. Some distance from the main part of town but a short drive if you have a car. The sliding glass doors reduce the privacy however overall the rooms were of a high standard for motel style accomodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
632 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Excellent place to stay, it has a very good reputation. Its close to the new coastal walkway. Very close to shopping centre, and walking distance to the city and the beach. Rooms are very clean, well kept, great customer service

Room Tip: Stay for two nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janr20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fitzroybeachmotel, Manager at Fitzroy Beach Motel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you very much for the lovely comments. It was a pleasure to have you stay and we are glad we met your high standard. Look forward to seeing you agin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raumati Beach, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Wonderful location , helpful and pleasant management. Neat, clean and very tidy accommodation. We stayed for 4 nights and would do so again. Only problem struck was that their website states "WIFI initial complimentary 100mb per day , 5c per MB thereafter " was actually given only 100mb for the 4 days although they did give me a further 100mb.Website should be altered !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwavas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fitzroybeachmotel, Manager at Fitzroy Beach Motel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words it was lovely to see you and enjoy your stay with us. Our wifi issue has been addressed and fixed. We look forward to seeing you again in the Naki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent a week with our two kids at the Fitzroy Beach Motel and were very happy with the room which was one of the two bedroom units. The unit was very clean and modern for an older facility and everything we needed was there and in perfect working order. Spa bath was a nice treat as well. The staff were all fantastic especially Dianne who made sure we were well looked after. Certainly have no problems in recommending the Fitzroy Beach Motel if you are looking for somewhere comfortable just outside the city of New Plymouth. Also been close to the beach and walkway and local shops is a great advantage as well.

Room Tip: There are a couple of two bedroom suits which are ideal if travelling with the little ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig_Saywell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fitzroybeachmotel, Manager at Fitzroy Beach Motel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi Guys thank you for the great review we are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We turned on the weather for you and was great to see you out and about on our lovely coastal walkway too. We certainly look foward to seeing you again next year. Regards Dianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.6 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.7 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
3.4 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzroy Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzroy Beach Motel

Property: Fitzroy Beach Motel
Address: 25 Beach Street, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fitzroy Beach Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzroy Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing