We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Motel !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lockwood Manor Motel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very Good Motel !!!!”
Reviewed December 16, 2009

Kelly was a superb host, the motel is clean, well presented and really different in that it is a lockwood property. Stay at this motel in N Plymouth, hard to find one better there

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin11967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    55
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
49
103
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
auckland
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2009

Kelly-Anne and David went beyond our expectations to ensure that our stay was enjoyable. great accommodation, especially the adjoining rooms which are an essential when staying with young kids. great knowledge regarding the area, anything they don't know immediately they are willing to find out.

Many thanks

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

We discovered a fantanstic place to stay. Kelly-Anne and David were extremely welcoming and very friendly. They were most understanding of families travelling with small children and most helpful and knowlegable about the region. The room was beautifully presented and well laid out with above average fittings. Everything was well thought out and all we needed for a great stay. Only spent one night but wished it could have been a week. We can't recommend this place highly enough. We will tell anyone and everyone how great the place was. Given the chance, we will definetely revisit and for much longer next time. Thanks again for a wonderful experience at this beautiful motel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oakies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Really enjoyed our stay here, one of the cleanest motels I have ever experienced. Rooms were great and the owners/managers very accommodating and friendly. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glitabugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiapoi
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Comfortable spacious units , underfloor heating and fantastic shower. All the extra touches make the difference. The hosts fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K3DL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2009

From start to finish - when you decide to go to New Plymouth you must stop in and stay at Lockwood Manor Motel - if you want great service and superior rooms (super clean and kitchenette - great) and a comfortable, warm and cozy night - then that is the place to go! And the best part of the "5 Star" quality is that the price isn't! Very affordable! The owners/operators are very friendly and ready to help and they make the stay one to remember - ask them anything and they look into it and they are ready with an answer. The location is great! Short walk into town and views of the mountain and the sea also in easy walking distance. We will not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foneguy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2009

While choosing your accommodation from websites can lead to disappointment, we were extremely pleased when we arrived at and saw the standard of accommodation offered by the Lockwood Manor Motel at a reasonable price. My wife and I and three of our colleagues were all pleased with and complimentary of our three rooms which were generous in size and well fitted out with good looking furnishings. Underfloor heating and the provision of bathrobes added a touch of luxury. The shower pressure was impressive and the double glazed windows did ensure that we were not disturbed by external noise through the night. The only noise was caused by the high water pressure which could be heard when we or the unit next door used a tap or shower etc. The only other slightly inconvenient factor was the road access to the motel which requires crossing a busy road and knowing where to wait to cross safely without holding up traffic - if you need details as to what this means, contact the motel as they are very helpful. We have stayed at a reasonable number of motels and hotels in NZ and overseas and have never stayed at any motel as clean as this one. We were in New Plymouth for a conference and none of the numerous colleagues who I spoke to were as happy with their accommodation as we were with ours. Our hosts, David and Kelly-Ann, were extremely friendly and helpful and can be proud of the service that they are providing. Keep up the good work and we will see you next time.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arbie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.9 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
236 reviews
0.5 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
157 reviews
0.9 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lockwood Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lockwood Manor Motel

Property: Lockwood Manor Motel
Address: 47 Hobson Street, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#4 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
#5 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lockwood Manor Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 Ground floor spacious Lockwood well appointed studio units, four units are interconnecting to cater for families. All units have fully equipped kitchens, double glazing, heat pumps, Air con, under-floor heating, Heated towel rails 32' flat screen TVs, 50+ sky channels. The units are beautifully presented and are kept to a very high standard and serviced daily. There is a BBQ & guest laundry available. Parking is on site outside your door with extra parking also. Corporate rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lockwood Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lockwood Manor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing