We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Quality Hotel Plymouth International(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
$76
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ahu Ahu Beach Villas(New Plymouth)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One Burgess Hill(New Plymouth)
$90
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ariki Backpackers(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
$43
$35
Priceline
View Deal
Carrington Motel(New Plymouth)
$56
$52
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tivoli Homestay(New Plymouth)
$141
$118
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
171
58
4
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
58
4
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfantastic showerfree wifilight sleeperstayed for nightsgood sizemotelunitplymouthhostsaccommodationbikesnznoisecleanlinesswalkway
Filter
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 236 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2009

I chose the Lockwood because of the consistent feedback found here on tripadvisor. I stayed, alone, at the Lockwood for 4 days while on business. Then I returned, with my 20 y.o. daughter, to stay the following week while I was on business. My daughter spent her time, during the day, exploring New Plymouth. Both times the rooms were very clean and the hosts extremely pleasant and very accomodating. The in-floor heating system was great. I had no problems connecting with the internet and location was good, both to get to/from work as well as to find places to eat in the evenings. The rooms were spacious, quiet and comfortable.
I look forward to future opportunities to stay at the Lockwood. Thanks Kelly-Ann and David!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevefarang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

We found the staff very helpful and everything lovely and clean. Nice handy location to walk to the town centre and also the beautiful coastal walkway. Added bonus was internet access.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwichoccie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Have used Trip Advisor for quite some time and this place was highly recommended in it. Unfortunately, my experience was not pleasant. Primary problem was not being able to sleep. The motel is very close to a very busy traffic island. We were staying on a Saturday night and despite reassurances from the hotel management about the double-glazing, the road noise is just intolerable. The sound of souped-up hot hatches with wide bore exhausts especially the sound of aspirated Subarus until the wee hours was awful and started again around 5:30am. Having finally got to sleep around 1:30am, a party then started in the suburban house next door - all of 10 metres from our unit. The motel has very few areas for "relaxation since it's on a corner plot next to a busy intersection - basically you just want to dump your bags down and then sleep - unfortunately the latter was not possible.

The unit itself is very clean and tidy and has every amenity you could need for a family, incl. free wireless internet but for me, the basics of a hotel or motel is being able to sleep. I got 1 and 1/2 hours sleep and a cranky family before a long drive the next day. :(

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
Thank roamingEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2009

Obviously we are very disappointed that one of our guests didn't enjoy their stay as much as we would have liked.

For some reason there must have been more car activity out that particular Saturday night as generally there is never a constant stream of loud cars going past. However we never noticed anything different (our living accommodation is right beside the road).

Also, we have never encountered a situation where we hear enough modified cars at 5.30 on a Sunday morning to keep us awake.

We, along with other guests that night never heard the party in the house next door. If only we had of known, and Whilst it would have been a small inconvenience to us to make a quick phone call in the middle of the night, we would have happily been in touch with noise control to sort out the problem as, apart from wanting our guests to have a good night's sleep, it certainly saves on the embarrassment of being told about it the following morning or even worse...reading about it on the internet the following week.

Unfortunately there are some things we just cannot control unless we have the opportunity to fix them. We would have gladly shut down the party if we had known and while not ideal, even tried moving to another room as guest satisfaction is something we take very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Excellent shower,brilliant under floor heating, modern refurbishment with top quality chattells and very nice hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellernz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We recently stayed at the Lockwood Manor with a large group from work.

The rooms are lovely and the service was great.

Highly recommended!

Debbie Warren
Funding Co-ordinator
SPELD NZ INC.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews