We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great For Large Family Groups”
Review of Flamingo Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flamingo Motel
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here as a group of 31 for the last two nights of our family reunion. It was perfect for what we wanted. Our unit was downstairs at the front, and we weren't bothered by any traffic sounds.
The location was great, close to town and the waterfront walk.
The swimming pool and children's play area were well kept and in good condition. The indoor pool was fun too.
We were planning on going on excursions during one of the days, but ended up hanging out at the motel because the facilities were so family friendly and very comfortable.
Maree and Tony were great hosts and really helped make us feel very welcome.
We celebrated a very fun New Years Eve here too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoogleGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 119 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

What a great location for the coastal walkway and town. The local bus even stops right outside great for non-drivers like us. Tony & Maree couldn't have made our stay better, wish all owners could be like them. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank JBUB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Maree at the Flamingo Motel gave the best customer service I have received in a long time. Although we didn't end up staying at the motel, Maree was so helpful with our booking and subsequent cancellation that I was so disappointed to not stay there in the end as our trip to New Plymouth was cancelled. She was so accommodating dealing with our booking and tried to do so much to fit us in. And then when we cancelled she was so understanding - we will definitely stay there next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Deb w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here with a school sports team. Could not fault the Flamingo or the hosts in any way. The units were well equipped, spotlessly clean and the hosts, Maree and Tony, could not have been more accommodating. Location is fantastic - an easy stroll from the waterfront and a short drive to town. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were upstairs which gave a nice view towards the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SH4RRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The relatively new owners are doing a great job with an older motel. Decor would have to be at least 30 years old but bed was very comfortable, the room already warmed up and a welcoming treat. The indoor hot pool was great after a strenuous and cold day. Good location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very nice 2 night stay at the Flamingo Motel. Used this place as a stay when visiting Mount Taranaki. Place is very clean and quiet. Best part is the indoor hot swimming pool. Amazing for a bit of relaxation after climbing the mountain. Didn't brave the outdoor pool as it is winter! Cooking facilities were good, only complain is the light for the lounge was very bright to the extent it hurt our eyes. Other than that the owners were very nice and friendly. Fantastic stay will return.

Room Tip: Bargain and you might get a bit knocked off
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here when we first moved to new plymouth and were sorting out rental accommodation for us. The hosts were very friendly. My kids liked the outdoor swimming pool.But they just loved to play in the outdoor trampolene and kids zone in the motel. The indoor heated swimming pool was great for relaxation again my kids loved playing here. The ameneties in hotel were good enough and most of all they had comfy beds. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hasiven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.8 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
1.8 mi away
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
#13 of 30 in New Plymouth
186 reviews
1.6 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nice Hotel & Bistro
Nice Hotel & Bistro
#11 of 30 in New Plymouth
132 reviews
3.6 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
293 reviews
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Motel

Address: 355 Devon Street West, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range: $82 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Flamingo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing