We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant motel that would benefit from some updating” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flamingo Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Flamingo Motel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level Contributor
155 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A pleasant motel that would benefit from some updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

This motel is a little in modernised but was clean and welcoming. The hosts were friendly and the breakfast was fair. We enjoyed the swimming pool and the free paper delivered to the door was a welcome touch as were the tourist info sheets

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satisfied005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    39
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
24
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

The rooms are of an older style but are very clean and comfortable. The room I stayed in consisted of a separate kitchen, bedroom and lounge area. The room was heated and had a flat screen TV in both the lounge and bedroom. As mentioned, the fittings and decor were old but well looked after.

The owners are very friendly and a newspaper is delivered to the room every morning. tea & coffeee making facilities in the room are pretty standard.

It is about a 15 minute walk to the centre of New Plymouth and about 10 minutes to the coastal walkway.

Recommended if you are looking for a comfortable but reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaPvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

We (three adults and a child) fitted comfortably in our street-facing two-bedroom unit which features a spacious lounge as well. Devon Street is a major thoroughfare which made the street-facing bedroom rather noisy. The whole place is pleasant, clean, and managed by friendly, helpful owners. There is plenty of entertainment for the children, with an indoor pool, outdoor pool, trampoline, and play area. Our 8-year old loved it. The kitchen equipment worked and the chocolate fish were a nice touch. My one and only gripe is the really outdated, very basic bathroom: a small, rather reluctant showerhead over a small tub, with a very basic basin, and no amenities (apart from little cakes of soap). Shampoo/conditioner should at the very least be provided as well.

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wellingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central scotland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2009

We stayed 2 nights in late january and were pretty satisfied with our choice. The accomodation was maybe a little old fashioned, but it was comfortable and clean, the pool was very pleasant and there was a garden area with a barbecue. The location was quiet (we weren't near the road) and we walked into town along the coastal path. It was a little further than we had hoped however, though we resisted the temptation to drive into town.The owners were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2008

Max (the host)was there to receive us and made sure we settled in comfortably.Additional towels were provided for pool use.He also showed us where we could wash our car.

A self-service coin-operated laundry facility, a heated indoor pool, an outdoor swimming pool, and also a playground with a big trampoline...

Our 2-bedroom unit(Type B) was tidy and clean.The lounge was spacious and had a private courtyard.

A short drive to town.Our unit was facing the main road so could hear the traffic sound.

......and we loved the complimentary chocolate covered marshmallow!

  • Liked — Friendly hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherryto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.2 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.8 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.6 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.8 mi away
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
#17 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Motel

Property: Flamingo Motel
Address: 355 Devon Street West, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Flamingo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing