We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value - Cosy, comfortable, quiet, beautiful grounds.....”
Review of Timandra Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Timandra Motel
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Reviewed March 29, 2010

I'm fussy when it comes to staying anywhere. I prefer accommodation which has a bit of character and charm, but I don't like signs of deterioration (god sound like an old grump!) Timandra is set in beautiful grounds, with nature walks just outside the property, yet it's only two? minutes to the centre of town. After a tiring day viewing houses, it was so nice to walk into my cosy temporary home. Fully equipped kitchenette, new sissal carpets, comfy bed with crisp linen sheets, cosy lounge. Free paper delivered early on outside paper hook! marvellous. Breakfast brought to your unit - say no more - great value for money and Pete is a lovely host. Ps they even cater for pets - shows a kind and caring attitude.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LolanMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 69 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2010

Really enjoyed our short stay there. Would definately be back next time we are in New Plymouth. The rooms are comfortable and nicely furnished. The kitchenette was surprisingly well stocked with it's own stove with pots and pans etc. The children enjoyed the garden with the hammock and playground. Our stay was pretty short so we didn't get to make full use of all the facilities. We only went half way on the bushwalk behind the house on the morning we were leaving and would have loved to explore more. It was a truly enjoyable stay. Thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vgrapentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

While this is very close to SH 3 it is at the end of the street with a large Cemetery over the river to the rear which means it is nice and quiet with no traffic noise. You can hear the birds sing. The beds were awful and we tried four of them over the four nights we stayed. The best was the new King Single with pull out trundler bed underneath. The water pressure on the shower was very low. The free internet was great and the hosts were very nice and very accommodating. They had gathered information for us on the Concert we were attending. When I was complaining about not having my coffee machine with me and missing the brew they made us real cups of coffee. The fresh flowers on the table was a nice touch. The washing machine and dryer facilities were a bit over priced at $5 a pop and they were not commercial machines. I struggled to find enough pegs to hang my stuff on the clothes line and ended up joining my clothes together which did not dry properly. All things considered a great place to stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Good point about staying here - good location.
Bad points - dirty bathroom, lacking in Kiwi hospitality found elsewhere in NZ, overpriced.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlfieinDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Stayed there for three nights, lovely room with a king bed, very peaceful and has a large garden, with a tennis court. room was spotless and cleaned every day. would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelanieWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

Great location close to town, but a very quiet location no traffic noise, just Tuis with a good river/bush walk. All facilities are excellent, comfortable and homely. Nice tennis court and lots of sports equipment free to use. Good place to bring the family. A home from home. Will return and recommend to others!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandsmoothie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2008

I had a bad experience at the Waterfront Hotel this year and decided to visit the information centre to recommend a place close to town and Boys High where I would be able to sleep. When I arrived Sheryl had turned on the electric blankets, heaters and towel rails and the room was brilliant. I had french doors over the gardens and tuis flitting around. Absolutely no traffic noise and it was just like home. Awesome hosts and have stayed here four times this year now. Highly recommended and will always book here in NP.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crossply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
#11 of 30 in New Plymouth
180 reviews
1.3 mi away
Braemar Motor Inn
Braemar Motor Inn
#29 of 30 in New Plymouth
67 reviews
0.8 mi away
ASURE Abode on Courtenay
ASURE Abode on Courtenay
#19 of 30 in New Plymouth
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
288 reviews
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
1.8 mi away
Flamingo Motel
Flamingo Motel
#17 of 30 in New Plymouth
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timandra Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timandra Motel

Address: 31b Timandra Street | Welbourn, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range: $71 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timandra Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timandra Motel is a quiet, comfortable, central, affordable accommodation located 1.5km from city centre. Nestled down on a street set amongst bush, wake up to birdsong not traffic! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Timandra Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing