We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food disappointing, Luke warm undercooked”

Pig and Whistle Historic Pub
Ranked #15 of 220 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Centrally located in a classic piece of bold 1940's architecture, the Pig & Whistle is a local landmark with a great history. Our friendly staff will make your visit one you'll want to repeat. Monteith's, Heineken, Tiger, Erdinger & Black Dog as well as three Ciders on tap, a fantastic range of New Zealand wines. Our pub menu includes favourites like Seafood Chowder, New Zealand Lamb Salad and Pork Spare Ribs and we cater to children also. And there are our world famous piggy fries! Our Snack Menu is available from 11.30am till Close, 7 Days a week and we have a great selection of desserts. The Pig & Whistle has live bands every Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. Find out the up and coming bands on our Entertainment page. And we have big screen Hi Definition Sky Digital TV - catch your favourite sports on one of the big screens.
Ngaruawahia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food disappointing, Luke warm undercooked”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

Having been here twice before and no previous issues it was disappointing this time that the pork belly was Bartley cooked not hot so not sure whether due to delays serving or undercooking

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    471
    131
    41
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best of everything!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stumbled across this pub after walking up and down the Main Street being indecisive on what to eat.

The staff were lovely and super helpful when we asked about the beers as we knew not a lot about NZ brews. The swine brew was amazing and brewed in rotorua so was great to have some real local stuff.

The meals were amazing! A little on the high price side for a pub meal but you can certainly see where it all goes an you won't be disappointed. They were huge and we only just finished them, besides a few chips. The thing was though that they didn't trade quality for quantity, so it totally justifies the price.

I got the double cooked pork belly and it was amazing, with four huge pieces of pork. My partner got the scotch fillet (rare) and they cooked it perfectly which is often a hassle to get right.

The pub has the right balance between music, tv/sports, live bands, quiz nights and other things that it could be hard to disappoint.

A+ :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

This pub is located in the middle of town and my wife and I visited recently on a Saturday night to watch the All Black's vs Australia. The atmosphere was fantastic, with the pub becoming very busy later in the evening. Despite this the staff were polite and friendly and coped efficiently with the very large number of people.
The food was good and served quickly, the prices were average but not unreasonable.
Definitely worth a visit for the atmosphere which was busy but very friendly, the history of the building is interesting too!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

The selection was excellent but maybe I just ordered the wrong thing - I ordered the ribs which was a huge portion but had to leave half of them - they were stone cold - normally the meat from the ribs falls of the bone but these, I felt like a caveman - really had to get my teeth into them and rip the meat of the bone - the sauce was nice. The other meals that came out for other guests looked nice - will remember for next time.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank maddie1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Amazing food, staff, service, venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

We visited from Auckland for a weeked. The food here was amazing, awesome service, both bar and food. All staff were happy, helpful and delight to be around. We were in Rotorua for two nights and were so impressed by our dinner we went back. They even recognised us. It felt like we were at our own local. We will definately be back, have already recommended it to others. Keep up the great work. Such a awesome place to represent NZ to the many tourists that must go through there.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KavaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pig and Whistle Historic Pub also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Pig and Whistle Historic Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing