We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay stay but road noise quite bad”
Review of Victoria Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria Lodge
Ranked #12 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Okay stay but road noise quite bad”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The unit was very well-equipped with microwave, cutlery, plates, mugs, glasses - most things you would need really. Nice modern bathroom, but no bath - though we were in the cheapest room I think. Good location if you have no car too, as you can walk into town easily - it's very central.
The spa was just a hole outside the bathroom that you stepped into. You fill it up with a tap, but the ground is very hard so you might want to bring something to sit on in there (submerge it under the water and sit on it - otherwise you are sitting on pebbled concrete, ouch!) Very nice to relax and look at the stars though, while having a wine. However, there is no bubble bath provided, and you really need it, as otherwise it is just water in a concrete square - so bring your own.
Road noise was quite bad. I am a very light sleeper, so I had to wear earplugs and have a sleeping pill each night. If road noise is a problem for you, I'd recommend asking for a room away from the road - you are basically right on the road in many of the rooms.

We stayed 3 nights and had to ask after 2 nights for clean towels and a room spruce up. Felt a bit embarrassed asking, but when they came and did it, it was done very well. Perhaps there was a sign to put out that we missed to ask for the room to be made up.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aziran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    73
    28
    11
    4
See reviews for
56
119
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights and could not fault the place at all. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel relaxed and after a brief but informative checkin we were taken to our studio (number 5). We were shown around the room and given a demonstration of how to use the hot pool.

The room is well designed with everything you need including iron/board, microwave, utensils, kettle and crockery. There is a great flat screen TV with Sky, however Rotorua has so much to offer there is limited time to watch the TV. The bathroom is great, modern and spacious, however the best was the hot pool, simply hop out of the large, low window in the bathroom into your personal and secluded hot pool, simply divine. Also, there is space for your car outside your room (for the studios).

I have to say, my partner and I have stayed in a lot of good quality hotels around the world but I think this stay goes down as one of the best. Ok, if you book a large hotel there are benefits of a large pool, loyalty schemes, restaurants but if you are looking for something a little less corporate then I recommend a stay at Victoria Lodge.

Thanks for the great service, the comfortable beds and all the tourist info you offered. A great stay and we really hope to back in the future.

Room Tip: We had room 5, a studio for two which was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plane_sailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Both me and my friend woke up in pain due to the incredibly old poor quality beds. Also the sheets were pilled.
Went to use the phone to tell them there was a problem with the sheets and the phone is broken as well.
Had booked in for 2 nights but had to leave after one.

Room Tip: If you care about your back don't stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnamariag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We're glad that we stayed at the Victoria Lodge - with so many different options in Rotorua we really feel like we made a good choice.

Right from check-in, the owner/manager was so friendly and helpful, giving us recommendations for places to go, and a book of vouchers to use throughout the town. Our room had its own private spa outside, and inside was a really modern bathroom, and a decent sized bedroom with flastscreen TV, microwave, fridge, and tea & coffee making facilities.

The Victoria Lodge has everything that you could want for a trip to Rotorua, and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Me and my friends stayed in one of the serviced apartments at Victoria lodge for 4 nights in August 2012. We have been travelling around the world for the past three months and I have to say Alan and Pru were the friendliest hoteliers we have come across. They made us feel very welcome and had a good sense of humour ( especially when my friend got a little bit too drunk on his birthday ). The apartment itself was very nice. It had a nice well equipped lounge with a large LCD tv, DVD player and stereo. The kitchen was well equipped with oven, hob fridge etc. The bedrooms were also good with comfortable beds and a tv in each room. 
The location is also good, located on a quiet street but close enough to the town centre to walk there. 
I would recommend Victoria lodge to anyone looking for a spacious, well equipped apartment. 

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpw369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanunda, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

central location, very helpful staff, adequate rooms, Excellent

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robjon64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We travelled with 2 teenagers and stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment. Some good and some bad points, so was hard for me to choose a rating. Great set up with the bedrooms upstairs - our teenagers stayed in the room upstairs during the evening with us in the lounge - giving us all our own space. Very creaky steps though - so hard not to wake each other up in the morning. Motel is pet friendly so we took our small dog which was great - huge saving on kennel costs ! Carpet a little stained and an odd smell of fish in the room (not the normal Rotorua fragrance) which lingered our whole stay. We stayed in July - very cold outside but unit was lovely and warm. Owners have 2 black labradors which was evident on the sheets on the bed - oops.....black hairs everywhere. They were quite clearly clean and being a dog owner that didn't put me off too much, however perhaps a note to owners to keep laundry away from the dogs as not all visitors would feel this way. Friendly hosts and all up a good place to stay if you are looking for a pet friendly place with 2 bedrooms.

Room Tip: Apparently some rooms have a private spa? We weren't aware when booking so pays to check.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJohnson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
706 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
185 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.4 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Rotorua Motel
Rotorua Motel
#5 of 52 in Rotorua
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Lodge

Property: Victoria Lodge
Address: 10 Victoria Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart comfortable 4 Star Victoria Lodge in Rotorua. Walk to restaurants shops cafes bars lakefront attractions. Trip Advisor and Lonely Planet recommended. Cosy Studios for 1-3 people with your own private thermally heated hot pool. Two bedroom self-contained apartments for families or small groups. SKY Guest Select 50+ channels. Pet friendly rooms available! Friendly and knowledgeable hosts Kasia and Shane will provide information and make reservations for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing