We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our needs”
Review of Victoria Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victoria Lodge
Ranked #13 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect for our needs”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We recently had 2 nights at the Victoria lodge motel. Set back from the lake but in a quiet spot. We were able to walk to the shops, evening show, Polynesian spa, museum etc. Small room but we knew this when booking. It had all we needed including fridge and microwave. We had breakfast brought each morning which was great. We had our own thermal tub which was really hot though a bit uncomfortable to sit on. Owners very friendly and helpful, room very clean, nice towels etc. if staying longer you may want a bit more space.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gouldsDerby_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    72
    28
    11
    4
See reviews for
54
118
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashkelon, Israel
Level Contributor
155 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Rooms are rather small, somewhat old style furnished, yet nice and cosy, and above all - each room has its own thermal tub outside the bathroom, which makes any moment there worth. Pru and Alan are freindly and helpful. If I get once again to Rotorua I'll go right there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
392 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is a great motel - really good fun. Alan the owner is a lovely guy and really helpful to get you orientated and give you you information.

The rooms are great - we had one with a hot water pool outside and sat drinking wine looking up at the stars. It was lovely and made this a really good value hotel.

The location is good with a short walk to the supermarket and the main drag of the restaurants and bars and the park. There is easy parking and we felt like we had everything we could have wanted and a little bit more.Good value!

We stayed here just after the earthquake at Christchurch and Alan and his wife had taken people in and offered them somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poopyscoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We ended up staying a night at "Victoria Lodge"on the 1st January 2012 because their was a muck up with our booking at BK's Motel next door. I did learn something from this experience aways get written or email confirmation when booking motels. However we were greatful to have somewhere to stay but found the Lodge to be very overpriced. The unit was very small with hardly any room to move really cramped, the shower was ok but again very small. On a plus the bed was comfortable,the unit clean and quiet and the host were very pleasant. The car park was very small and a real squeeze for the car to fit in. Wouldnt stay here again as feel their are nicer places in Rotorua for the same price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingtui10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised at the Victoria Lodge. The hosts were so friendly, talked to them a few times and they were happy to give advice, make bookings and have a chat. The room was really nice and the private hot pools were amazing! I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

The hosts were great, very helpful in recommending restaurants and sightseeing. The mineral pool outside is something that must be tried in Rotorua , where else can you lie in a private mineral pool in your room and look at night sky with off stars and see Milky Way?

The rooms however are in need of renovations, everything is clean just not very new. In the winter the heating is not quite up to par and it gets a bit cold at night. Location is very central and very convenient for Rotorua

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilya42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA - West Coast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

The hosts at the Victoria Lodge were very helpful. They gave us heaps of super helpful travel advice. The location of the lodge is great. Very close to town, an easy walk to the Polynesian Spa and downtown Rotorua. The lodge needs renovated. The stairs going upstairs to the bedrooms in our two bedroom unit were EXTREMELY squeeky. Also, not the cleanest place. We found maggots in some dirty dishes left in the kitchen, as well as in the communal BBQ.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purpleseastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.6 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.6 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#32 of 92 in Rotorua
765 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Lodge

Property: Victoria Lodge
Address: 10 Victoria Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart comfortable 4 Star Victoria Lodge in Rotorua. Walk to restaurants shops cafes bars lakefront attractions. Trip Advisor and Lonely Planet recommended. Cosy Studios for 1-3 people with your own private thermally heated hot pool. Two bedroom self-contained apartments for families or small groups. SKY Guest Select 50+ channels. Pet friendly rooms available! Friendly and knowledgeable hosts Kasia and Shane will provide information and make reservations for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Victoria Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing