We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing must do if your after culture!”

Mitai Maori Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$86.08*
and up
Mitai Maori Village Experience in Rotorua
Ranked #11 of 59 Tours in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rotorua
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing must do if your after culture!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

I'm visiting my home country which I moved away overseas 7 years ago grew up with Maori culture all around me and I would highly recommend this as a must do to anyone wanting to get a taste of the culture before they leave NZ from backpackers to non English speaking you will enjoy the show and amazing hangi dinner!!! John was a great host and funny man who proved he cares just as much about other cultures as he does his own! He is very funny, witty truly making the night and breaking the barrier of collective nations to the hut doorsteps of Maori culture! The performers were outstanding in their traditional clothing with all their cultural performances. Wanted it to keep going on but provided excellent content.

Helpful?
Thank Cit2getha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    979
    478
    128
    45
    37
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kincumber, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Night Out”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great night, quite diverse with different things to see and, for 1, to participate in. Great food from the hangi and again very informative and entertaining guide with good sense of humour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun, facts and food”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

What can I say? I could go on and on about how brilliant this experience was but I'll try keep it short. I went mostly for the food and the Haka but it was so much more. I was impressed by the war canoe and the way the facts were interspersed with humorous asides as we saw numerous traditional dances and fighting techniques. After the canoe entrance and the show it was on to the food which was delicious and plentiful. A great experience from start to finish and it was over far too soon. Would definitely recommend to fellow travellers.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynneelynlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great night out”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

From the greeting to the Waka (canoe) in the river to the Maori culture show to the walk through the Kiwis in the dark it was an awesome evening and the FOOD!!! it was tender, delicious and unlimited. I cant fault my evening had a blast a full belly and a healthy dose of culture and a close encounter with New Zealands national bird who could ask for more.... Thanks Mitai for an awesome evening.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MadGazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great evening”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We definitely wanted to experience some Maori culture whilst in New Zealand and Mitai was recommended by our hotel. The team at Mitai were all super friendly and it was a very informative and highly entertaining even. The food was great but the dances and songs were easily the highlight.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank burnttoast87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitai Maori Village also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Mitai Maori Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing