We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Evening”

Mitai Maori Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$82.53*
and up
Mitai Maori Village Experience in Rotorua
Ranked #11 of 60 Tours in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Evening”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We enjoyed the evening. They picked us up at our hotel in a timely fashion. It's a fairly good show, and they work hard to make it memorable. My main disappointment was the dinner -- plenty of food, but it wasn't particularly authentic to the theme and it was served without fanfare in a big tent. The trail through the woods was nice when we talked about the culture before dinner and when we looked at glow worms after dinner. It was a bit pricey at over $100 per person.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank acosner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    973
    471
    126
    44
    36
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Maori Culture Experience”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We went last minute as the hotel we stayed at had discount tickets available. We had looked into going but the price of $113 each was a bit more than we expected however the discounted price was $70 each.
The host was very entertaining and the food was very good and there was plenty of food available for those with big appetites.
The cultural show was really good and very informative. It gave a good insight into the Maori culture.
After dinner we went for a short bush walk to see the glow worms.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Muppet71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very impressive and informative”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

definitively worth to see the village and the haka performance! There is quite a bit of talk, so if you have toddlers, it may be a bit long, but stick with it, as the haka performance is a cracker at the end!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sirmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quality show and great food”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We looked at all the Maori cultural experiences and went with Mitai on the recommendation of our hosts. We were not disappointed. We have 2 boys, 10 and 12, who are not easily impressed without a video screen or Minecraft slant and both thought it was really fun. The timing was great and the show itself very entertaining. The food was surprisingly excellent given feeding a crowd but their Hangi cooking process (which they'll show you) ensures a good meal. The night trek to see their spring and glow worms was also an added bonus. Just know that this might be a long night for little ones so you might want to drive yourself instead of using their pickup bus (if you have a rental). Then you can leave at your leisure.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“This is the real deal and a wonderful evening.”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

So much "interesting" packed into one evening. The host, sort of the MC, was wonderfully funny and charming. We had a visiting tribe of 25 nations! He could, indeed, welcome most people and mention the chocolate cake in their native language. The grounds are beautiful, the food was tasty. The ceremony and dancing and singing were beautiful - exuberant and well done. We learned a lot about the Maori culture and history as well as seeing the fascinating artesian springs and the glow worms. Everyone that you interact with is friendly and helpful. We were also told "this one might be a little less polished or commercial". Two thumbs up for that! and two thumbs up for this whole experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hobnob_Hobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitai Maori Village also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Mitai Maori Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing