We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Mitai Maori Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$86.15*
and up
Mitai Maori Village Experience in Rotorua
More Info
$103.23*
and up
Mitere Mitai Combo Experience with Hangi Feast and Cultural Performance
More Info
$140.36*
and up
Maori Hangi and Cultural Performance with 4WD Buggy Adventure in Rotorua
Ranked #11 of 62 Tours in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We selected this "Maori Hangi Feast based on a recommendation from our hotel and were very pleased with this experience.They pick you up at your hotel and return you back after the dinner and cultural experience. Both the dinner and the performance were excellent as we gained a great deal of interesting information about the Maori culture in New Zealand.We also learned that there are a lot of competing activities/experiences in Rotorua and we would suggest you check with your hotel as you really only need to have one Maori Hangi Feast [cultural experience] and one thermal/volcanic experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank EdmontonTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,000
    487
    128
    45
    37
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent night”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by just how good our night at the Mitai Maori village was. There was so much crammed into the night, it was fantastic. The staff/entertainers were great, seeing the glowworms was really cool and so was the fairy spring, it was very informative and best of all was the food. There was something for everyone with lots of healthy options. Loads of choice for me as a vegetarian - best meal I have had in ages and great pavlova!

I will be recommending this to any friends that go to Rotorua

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Littlemisssunshine06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Read the "Terrible" reviews first - I wish I did before we decided to go!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went last night after agonizing over which of the many Rotorua Maori "experiences" we should attend, and were swayed by all the "Excellent" reviews here. Needless to say, we were very disappointed. Now, too late, I have read the few "Terrible" reviews, and they are all spot-on and quite accurate - the big tent, loud traffic noise from the highway, herded like cattle, cheesy banter, poor quality performance, good food (but no better than a pub buffet), feeling of being ripped off

Worst thing about it all is how it seems to have so little respect for the culture it is claiming to celebrate. We saw the cultural performance at the Waitangi Treaty Grounds and it was fabulous - spine tingling, emotional and heartfelt - with only 7 performers! At Mitai it was all cheese and no heart - Disney-style village mockup, warrior chief with smart-alec punchlines, background performers chatting amongst themselves while "serious" stuff was going on in front. Even the dramatic arrival of the warriors in their canoe was an isolated event, happening in a different part of the grounds, unconnected to the main show a short frog-march away.

We then stayed on for the extra-cost Kiwi encounter at the bird park next door - more money wasted. Basically a guided march through the whole park, mostly not looking at Kiwi. The few minutes we did spend in the Kiwi enclosure were spent peering into the dark, getting excited about glimpses of Kiwi silhouettes amongst the undergrowth - Kiwis are nocturnal, it was night-time and the park respects them enough to keep them in the dark - all excellent practice, but hardly worthwhile for us hoping to see something. No "behind the scenes" stuff, visiting the hatchery or seeing chicks being fed - this only happens on the day-time tours, we were told. Great!

So, read the "Terrible" reviews before you waste your money - you'll see that they are calm, considered, intelligent reviews - and from my experience, very accurate.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane, qld
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth the price”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were keen to expose our two young children to the local Maori culture and this was perfect. Upon booking online the price seemed a little steep and the rickety old bus that collected us from our hotel was a little daunting, but the experience ultimately offered great value. The young host (I wish I could remember his name) kept the night interesting, engaging and moving along. The cultural show was authentic, interesting and highly entertaining and the food was uniquely flavoured, delicious and plentiful. A vegetarian at our table seemed to be complaining about the options available to her but I think there were around 8 buffet dishes on offer and just two of these were meat - chicken and lamb. As noted by other reviewers, I was a little surprised that at least soft drinks/juice weren't included in the price.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank travel_novice72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“High quality show. Good food.”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised with the caliber of this show. From the entrance of the Maori warriors in a war canoe through the cultural dances and presentation, this was first rate show. Buffet was plentiful and delicious.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank df03438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitai Maori Village also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Mitai Maori Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing