We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A peaceful home away from home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Careem BnB

Facing east, enjoy sunrises with unobstructed views to farmland and Mt Tarawera in the distance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Facing east, enjoy sunrises with unobstructed views to farmland and Mt Tarawera in the distance
Main bedroom, queen sized slat bed, is so quiet that guests say they get a very sound sleep A clear winters day, with crisp clean air and clear blue water
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Facing east, enjoy sunrises with unobstructed views to farmland and Mt Tarawera in the distance
Main bedroom, queen sized slat bed, is so quiet that guests say they get a very sound sleep
A clear winters day, with crisp clean air and clear blue water
Pull out sofa in lounge. Makes up to a comfy spare bed
Sometimes we are treated to a tachnicolour sunrise like this!
View from your entrance. Relax on the deck, in the gardn or dip your feet in the lake from our jetty
We love to grow our own organic produce. Recent crop of strawberries.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rotorua, Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kirsten P
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A peaceful home away from home”
Reviewed January 17, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just under 15 minutes from downtown Rotorua, this was a great find! We were a family of 4 adults traveling together and found Careem BnB a perfect place for us. It sits on a beautiful lake (much bigger than it appears in the photos). You can kayak into the inlets and caves or walk the walking paths and enjoy the nature. It has lovely gardens with lots of flowers, black swans, and ducks.

Carol and Mike are gracious hosts giving you as much privacy or assistance as you like. We took full advantage of Carol's many gifts (she is an amazing cook, massage therapist, artist, gardener....the list goes on). We enjoyed her vegan breakfast that was as filling as a thanksgiving dinner. We enjoyed relaxing massages in her spa. We enjoyed her baked goods and her gardens.

The home is close to the key must see spots and Carol gave us great suggestions (like doing the Treewalk at night when the lanterns are lit - it was magical). The house was modern, well appointed, spotlessly clean, and all that we could have asked for. We really enjoyed our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BindyMcCa...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed December 31, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

The location is idyllic with beautiful views across the lake. The lake is lovely to swim in and Carol directed us to a lovely beach. The accommodation was as described and very adequate. Carol was welcoming and happy to assist us with anything we needed. I have 2 little things that I feel would improve the experience, both related to the basic breakfast - fresh milk and fresh fruit would just make this breakfast perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaL...
Buellton, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunningly Beautiful View!”
Reviewed March 5, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We spent our last two nights in New Zealand in this excellent accommodation right on Lake Okareka. The apartment is so nice, with everything you need to relax, enjoy the scenery, cook a meal, and sleep soundly. Carol gave us a tour of her whimsically decorated organic vegetable garden, picking greens and fruit for our salad as she went. The location offers kayaks to take out on the peaceful lake, and a nature walk where you can observe the black swan families and many other interesting birds and plants. We enjoyed a delicious and healthy dinner with Carol and Mike our second evening at Lake Okareka. Carol specializes in preparing a variety of healthy dishes, fully utilizing the fruits and vegetables she grows, and supplementing with other ingredients found locally, depending on her guests' gastronomic requirements. We would love to return and spend more time at Careem B&B! The location is an easy 3 hour drive to the Auckland airport making it a great place to rest and reflect before returning home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L
1 review
“Paradise on Lake Okareka”
Reviewed March 5, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The accommodations were clean and comfortable, and the hosts were amazing. Carol has an beautiful Arden, sharing her fruits with us. Mike gave us a boat tour of the lake, along with allowing us use of their kayaks. Our stay was very peaceful and comfortable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L
Wohlen, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“pure relaxation - breathtaking views”
Reviewed March 15, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at Careem BnB for two nights, right on the enchanting Lake Okareka. I wish I could have stayed much longer! What a breathtaking view! Through the windows of the spacious, well equipped self-contained two room apartment I could enjoy the picturesque garden with Carol’s vegetables, fruits and herbs in front of the lake. Pure nature and romance! And a lovely place to relax and to recharge your batteries! Carol is a lovely and welcoming host. In her guest information booklet you will find very helpful information and advice on what you can do and see in the area and you even learn much more about “Lake Okareka Lifestyle”. The breakfast was incredibly delicious. Homemade wholemeal bread and jams, fresh fruits and muesli! I strongly recommend this accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the spectacular views and the delicious breakfast
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars B
Soest, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B in beautiful location”
Reviewed November 13, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

A lovely place with a warm and welcoming host. A short distance from all the main Rotorua attractions (geysers, Maori village, Redwood forest, blue and green lake) and a worthy location of itself. The home cooked dinners were excellent and the views amazing. Highly recommended!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCtravelz
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
498 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
Reviewed May 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

There are two things I miss the most when I travel: a home-cooked meal and a good hot shower. Carol offers both and much more. The facility is perfect. It feels very self-contained and private. The location is very convenient. It's close to a number of things like the redwoods forest as well as the blue and green lakes. It's far enough away from Rotorua to not smell but convenient enough to head into town to do things.

We took advantage of the optional meals. The breakfast was incredible! Delicious and filling enough to keep us going all day until dinner (with a light afternoon snack). We loved the yogurt so much we went out and bought the same yogurt maker.

Carol is very nice and extremely knowledgeable about the surrounding areas. She also did our laundry which was very helpful while traveling. All in all we fully recommend this place and wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the breakfast
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2015
Thank you for your review! We love hosting people, and hearing about their travels and their lives. Making you feel at home with some "real food" and a warm welcome is simply a pleasure!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing