We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“room with a view!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Panoramic Country Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
A Panoramic Country Homestay
Ranked #21 of 56 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“room with a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2010

This was our 1st experience with a homestay and it was wonderful. Our hosts, Chris and Dave could not have been more welcoming. On our 1st afternoon we enjoyed tea and coffee on the garden patio, taking in the lake view. As others have mentioned, Chris was very helpful with suggestions for activities in the area, such as tramps at Hamurama Springs (clear water, trout and redwoods!), Tutea's Falls, and Blue Lake. She also arranged an excursion for a Maori Hangi and cooked a superb dinner by prior arrangement with mussels, lamb, and NZ wines. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WIShikerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

We have just returned from a month in New Zealand and our stay at A Panorama Country Homestead was one of our highlights. It is worth the easy drive from Rotorua to the north shore of the lake to stay in such a lovely home with wonderful views and great hosts. Our room was beautifully decorated with a stunning view over the garden and lake. Chris and Dave made us very welcome and gave us lots of helpful advice and Steve enjoyed the 'cricket and rugby chats'. We would highly recommend the Panorama.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ&SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

We spent 3 nights with Dave and Christine. The room and view from it were exquisite, the hospitality was great and we really felt at home. Would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilErna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2009

Panorama is beautifully situated at the north end of the lake in peaceful surroundings but with Rotorua and all its attractions close by. Our room, with its state of the art bathroom, was as comfortable as many a five star hotel and the smell of freshly baked bread and croissants lured us from our bed to a delicious breakfast featuring Chris's home made jams. Chris and Dave are wonderful hosts who have a detailed knowledge of the area and can suggest some interesting additional things to see over and above the obvious attractions in the area. It was great to spend the evening chatting in the kitchen over a glass of wine or two with two really warm, welcoming and friendly people.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldgeeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2009

The place is a bit far from city center, but it's very peaceful, very cozy, and has a very beautiful view. Especially in the clear day.
Chris and Dave gave us many points to look, something that perhaps only locals know, and they are very friendly.
This is a good place to stay, if there was older traveler or someone who likes it rather quiet. The Mokoia Room would also be good for honeymooners as it is a bit apart than the others.

We didn't get any key to the house/room, and it's not a problem for us (since we were away the whole day anyway, and Chris was waiting for us when we get back). But it might be a problem for those who likes to come and go as often as they like.

  • Liked — Cozy environment
  • Disliked — Location a bit far
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2008

We loved our stay in Panorama! Chris and Dave were just tremendous hosts! Our bedroom was light and open, with a beautiful view towards the back area and the lake. We felt right at home here. Our breakfasts were good, and enjoyable because we could spend time with the other guests. Chris gave me a lot of suggestions about neat sights to see in the area (where many tourists don’t go). I took a long walk every day in the surrounding hills and it was just beautiful. I would highly recommend a stay here, for at least 2 days.

  • Liked — Gracious hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2008

PCH is situated in an elevated position on the less touristy Northern Shore of Lake Rotorua. The views of the lake from the garden and the bedroom are beautiful and unspoilt. The evening meal we had on the first night ( by prior arrangement ) was truly excellent, accompanied by the invariably scrumptious new Zealand wine. Our bedroom was spotless and comfortable as well as having a separate and very posh private bathroom big enough to hold a barn dance in!
The house is big enough to loll about in comfortably if the weather takes a turn for the worse and the hosts, Chris and Dave Perrycould not have been more welcoming. It's a little bit dearer than some of the other Band Bs but well worth the extra.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morganic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
8.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
5.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
7.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#42 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
3.2 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
2.2 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 56 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Panoramic Country Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Panoramic Country Homestay

Property: A Panoramic Country Homestay
Address: 144 Fryer Road | Hamurana, RD 7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — A Panoramic Country Homestay 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Panoramic Country Homestay is the ideal base to stay near many Rotorua attractions. Take in magnificent views overlooking Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Feel the peace and tranquility as you relax under the stars in the private guest heated massage spa pool. Curl up in front of the log fire in winter or the more energetic can play tennis or take many walks listening to the birds. Enjoy extra large beds for a peaceful nights sleep. All rooms have private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your A Panoramic Country Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing