We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed for one night in a studio room and it was great. Room was nice, clean, and modern. It had a small kitchenette as well with everything we needed. Bathroom had a big spa bath in it. The pool is really nice and heated too. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mal2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to reivew Emerald Spa. We are so pleased you had a lovely time with us and enjoyed our facilities. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 466 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here and my only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. Amazing service from the owners and a massive in-room spa made for a fantastic weekend. Very knowledgeable about local attractions and only too happy to help. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathieu888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Emerald Spa. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found Rotorua an interesting city to explore. Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Service at this motel was excellent. Julie, who I believe to be one of the owners was extremely nice and friendly. Showed us to our room, provided milk and a small welcome basket (cookies, potato chips and chocolates). Explained the facilities of the room and the motel complex, including letting us know about the 50 digital tv channels, that she would provide us with pool towels whenever we wanted them, offering discount vouchers for attractions etc. Stayed here with husband and teenage daughter in a one bedroom apartment. Lounge had lounge chair, sofa, small dining table and four chairs, good quality single bed, large flat screen tv on the wall, computer desk (free wifi). In the same room was a small kitchette with microwave, 2 hob cooker. The bathroom had toilet, shower, sink and large spa bath/pool that you filled yourself. The separate bedroom had a queensize bed, single wardrobe and side cabinets as well as small wall mounted flat screen tv. The beds were very comfortable, with good quality sheets etc.
The motel is on Fenton Street so very handy to shops etc (5 mins by car). The heated pool was lovely. The entire apartment was very clean and modern. The only thing I didn't like was that although the rooms are non smoking and I specifically asked for non smoking, customers can smoke on the balconies (tables and chairs around the balcony). Unfortunately both sets of occupants on either side of us smoked and the smoke wafted into our apartment so we had to keep the door shut at all times. fortunately the rooms are air conditioned. My recommendation would be to have a smoking area or group smokers together. Overall I would recommend this hotel - the service was fabulous.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for your comments about the smoking on the balconies. We will look in to this. Have a lovely Easter and hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Central location, very helpful and friendly staff, excellent bed, comfortable sitting room furniture, magnificent bathroom with private spa. We stayed three nights while exploring the Rotorua area, and enjoyed every minute. Very good continental breakfast delivered to the room gave a good start to the day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you had a great stay at Emerald Spa and Rotorua. There is certainly a lot to do and explore in Rotorua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Emerald Spa Resort is centrally located, reasonably priced, very clean, quiet, good facilities, nice pool, amazing spa bath, gets good sun, and has very friendly and helpful service - highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you want to sit in the balcony in the sun, ask for one of the back rooms - good balcony for G&...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZGirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for your great review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and especialy the G & T's on the balcony in the sunshine. Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed there recently on the way down the North Island. Very nice place, good facilities and the staff were very friendly. Also well located for the city centre. Had a great massage there to wind down from all the travelling. Would thoroughly recommend this place (and the massages).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apb761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and had time to also enjoy a lovely relaxing massage. Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Emerald Spa Resort in early February 2013 whilst touring around the North island of NZ.

We were most impressed with the location, excellent facilities, attentive and approachable management and staff - what more could one ask for.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boondie_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Emerald Spa, we are really pleased you had a great time. Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
745 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
893 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.2 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Spa Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Spa Motor Inn

Address: 286 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#10 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Business Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $98 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Emerald Spa Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Rotorua's newest 5 star Motels providing "luxury" accommodation with an outdoor heated swimming pool, BBQ facilities and small gym. 28 luxurious suites; studio, one and two bedroom all air-conditioned with large spas, 50+ Sky TV channels, Free WiFi, King size beds, hush glass and self catering kitchenettes. Ideal for families, couples and business travellers. Only 0.5 km from the excitement of the city, this 5-star motel has an excellent location for restaurants, golf course, racecourse, conference centre and thermal attractions. Offering superior services Emerald Spa Motor Inn is committed to ensuring that your stay is comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Emerald Spa Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing