We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heed the reviews!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Valentines Rotorua

Valentines Rotorua
Ranked #177 of 219 Restaurants in Rotorua
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
welliington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heed the reviews!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Absolutely terrible, under no circumstances should you eat here! The selection was shocking, food was gross, toilets were filthy. We didn't have super high expectations, we have eaten at Valentines before and are fully aware it is not fine dining, but this was shocking. Even the soft serve icecream looked watered down. Only positive thing I can say is we got a partial refund.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank georgepWelliington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    41
    30
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Almost but not quite”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We got there late evening... we were told to have a look to see how much food was left before deciding if we wanted to eat there. We had a look, there was some food left so we said yes ok, we will eat. Just before going to pay, I asked when the food was going to be taken away, the woman said "at 9pm"... it was already 8.55pm, that was in 5 minutes!! Almost wasted $100 for a meal we wouldn't have had time to eat.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui-in-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Staff were very helpful and friendly. Not common to have good service in casual restaurants these days.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eternalkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheep”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

You pay for what you get. If you want quick food that is cheep and narsty dine here. For the price would of been better having fish and chips as mainly fried or quick processed foods. A real let down.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Avoid like the plague”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We ( Two couples on our 60s,)visited on a Monday night when it wasn't very busy.It was the worst meal we have ever had. The steak was tough as leather, the meatballs were dried out, the hot chips were cold and the hot cut ham also dried out. All the food in the bain marie looked very unappitising. For the price it was most disappointing. When we complained to the manager she said she would mention it at their weekly meeting but told us no one else had complained!!!Talk about bad PR and customer service. Overall an extremely disgusting experience. Never again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank narello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valentines Rotorua also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Valentines Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing