We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid like the plague”
Review of Valentines Rotorua - CLOSED

Valentines Rotorua
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Avoid like the plague”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We ( Two couples on our 60s,)visited on a Monday night when it wasn't very busy.It was the worst meal we have ever had. The steak was tough as leather, the meatballs were dried out, the hot chips were cold and the hot cut ham also dried out. All the food in the bain marie looked very unappitising. For the price it was most disappointing. When we complained to the manager she said she would mention it at their weekly meeting but told us no one else had complained!!!Talk about bad PR and customer service. Overall an extremely disgusting experience. Never again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank narello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    41
    30
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The kids loved the experience.”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I am getting a bit old now for buffets (my youthful appetite has gone). However my kids loved the experience (ages 4-9). If you go on a Tuesday then for every adult 1 child under 12 dines free. My personal favs where the prawns (in the hot food section) and the brandy snaps. Also there is free tea, coffee and water. This is not the place for the high end dinner, but if you are looking for quantity, reasonable consistent quality and fair value then Valentines is the one for you.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank nrjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OK........”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

A group of us went for dinner last night. First impressions of the building outside by the car park are not good, needs painting and brightening up the signs are awful. A nice woman greeted us and offered us the choice of a round or square table, we took the round so we could all talk. Was disappointed that in walking in the door the first thing you see is gaming machines. They don't need them there it looks so cheap! The food choices were great, loads to choose from, all full and fresh, we all had a great meal. The only comment I would make is that the Seafood Chowder was not that nice, hard to find the seafood. But there were lots of other choices and they were great! We had to clear the tables ourselves a couple of times, the staff not really doing it as they should. And they haven't been trained how to carry plates.
I went to the ladies and have to say it's time they were done up. They were clean, but the cisterns badly need replacing.
If you want to take the family out for a fun dinner, that's reasonably priced, this place is great. It's not for the romantic rendezvous lol.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanjaneRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Superb buffet breakfast as always”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I'm a regular when in Rotorua at this buffet. Love the creamy mushrooms. Have all the usuals - hash browns, scrambled or fried eggs, pancakes, etc. etc.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could not get front door as it was still locked at 6.50pm”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Every piece of meat was over cooked and very dry, very Little options with the food. All the meat and seafood dry. Will never eat there again. A table of 4 complained who was sitting next to us and got a free drink.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 90120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valentines Rotorua also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing