We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“staff arguing during service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Seismic Gastrobar - CLOSED

Seismic Gastrobar
Cuisines: American, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“staff arguing during service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

After calling to make a reservation for 8pm we were asked to come in earlier as its not a busy night for them. When we did arrive earlier our drink and food order was taken, we were given a bottle of water for the table but no glasses to drink it from. There were only two other tables seated at this time. Our entree and main came out together and we were left to it. The staff then sat down at another table at the front of the restaurant and went about eating their own meal before having a loud argument, swearing and carrying on before the waitress walked out! I went up to the bar to try and get another drink but this didn't distract them from their arguing. I was finally served after waiting for some time. When we went to pay we told them that there service was disgusting and their response was to ask what they did to offend us! This is a real shame because the food was actually nice but let down by the antics of the staff. Not in any hurry to return that's for sure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank spiritxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    13
    5
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“After Work Drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Had a awesome time here with mates. Relaxed and funky atmosphere. They have quiz nights running and has a really good feel to it. Good place and great location for that after work beer. and Visitor friendly with staff that look after patrons and give a great experience. Been going here since it was the old La Vega

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BungyNeiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A real letdown...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

It has changed hands and it used to be a lovely place to eat, today we ordered 2 lunch meals and were the only ones there, after quite a wait the meals came out with the garlic bread, we said we no longer wanted the garlic bread as we had ordered it to come out first. I ordered a burger and the beef burger was very pink inside, too pink to eat :(, my husbands meal was just as bad. We did mention it to the staff, have to say the waitress was also very apologetic when she had spilled the coffee all over the plate and didn't charge us. Such a shame, we wont be going there again anymore.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JaxxRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotorua
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good value for good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My partner and myself went to this well-located restaurant purely for the experience and word of mouth recommendations. First impressions are important as there is a lot of competition in Rotorua. To this end we found the staff and management welcoming, friendly and obliging. The luncheon menu was comprehensive and reasonably priced. We ordered salads which were well- presented and both tasty and sufficient in size.
We will certainly return with friends next time around, and recommend it to anyone considering dining out in the town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bakoRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Plenty more places better than this”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Not a lot of atmosphere in the place . We ordered a seafood platter which was ok apart from a few beards in the mussels. We weren't given any extra plates to put our food on or to put the waste on, which made it all a bit fiddly. We did ask for some and they did bring them and apologised. Staff were nice, but seemed a bit preoccupied and there were only 2 other families in. On a positive note thank you to the lovely waitress that introduced me to Erdinger beer.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anarusbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seismic Gastrobar also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing