We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Indian in Rotorua”

Indian Star Tandoori Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 220 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Rotorua's most awarded restaurant with awesome atmosphere and flawless service.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Great Indian in Rotorua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Great service, excellent food - best meal out in Rotorua on a recent business trip. Fed 6 healthy appetites for $35 per head including a couple of beers each. Our server gave recommendations that were perfect, the water was topped-up without asking and although we were last-out we weren't rushed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexCE3177XB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    826
    284
    64
    23
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The Best Curry Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

We are currently holidaying in New Zealand and have stopped off in Rotorua. Where we are staying (Koura Lodge) recommended this restaurant and how right they were. Service was first class and food quality a distinct cut above anything else we have ever had in any other curry house anywhere in the world. The staff are superb, they take the time to explain how the menu differs from the English version, they are attentive but not suffocating. Above all else, it was very reasonable too. If you're in Rotorua, fancy a curry then you will do no better than this! TIP: only two portions of rice for 4 people required.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Curry House, one of the best in New Zealand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

this is the second time that we have had the pleasure of eating at this curry house and being served by Ray, the service, the restaurant and the attention to detail are sublime, little touches like receiving a personalised calendar when we left just add to the night.
aside from that the meals are as close to a UK curry for me that I have so far found in NZ and for me that is enough to keep coming back !

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Cloggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
“Fantastic seafood combo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

I shared a lovely evening with boyfriend & friends, along with a very tasty seafood combo. For main I also shared a medium Lamb balti, which had the most fantastic flavour. I never ask for hot as I like to taste my food. The staff are so helpful and friendly, it was a lovely evening and everything came out with great timing.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Puke, New Zealand
Level Contributor
130 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“a really good curry night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

where do you take a salesteam of around 20 for dinner in Rotorua? We'd risked the hotel the previous night, have done the "maori experience" before so why not go for a curry.
Indian Star didn't disappoint. Great curry, plenty of options, free flowing refreshments and were very accommodating of our dodgy shop bought cake for the birthday celebrator in our midst.
will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Palmytaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Star Tandoori Restaurant also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Indian Star Tandoori Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing