We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Indian food in touristy geothermal centre of New Zealand - who knew?”

Indian Star Tandoori Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 223 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Rotorua's most awarded restaurant with awesome atmosphere and flawless service.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Great Indian food in touristy geothermal centre of New Zealand - who knew?”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

This was an unexpected find thanks to tripadvisor. Unassuming location and presence in restaurant row in the centre of town. The food was great and the service was really fantastic without a hint of pretense. Staff and ?owner were friendly, genuine, efficient and provided great service. Very clean and pleasant atmosphere. Prices were moderate and appropriate (a surprise given NZ's otherwise way overpriced restaurants). $78 for two with 3 beer and more than enough food. Tandoori entree platter was great as was the lamb groben josh and Aloo gobi. Well deserved high rating on here. Solid restaurant worth trying out. I think everything would be good and of reliable quality. Thanks for a really great last dinner in Rotorua.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    836
    287
    64
    23
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Nebraska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The best Chicken Marsala I've ever eaten. There are tables inside and outside. The wait staff was very friendly.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
204 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Yum! (And Great Service, Too.)”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We ended up at Indian Star after a complete disaster at another Indian restaurant a short walk from here. If we had known how good this restaurant was going to be, we would have saved the headache and come here in the first place. The service was friendly and fast, the food was very good, and the manager (or perhaps he was the owner) gave our family his personal attention when we arrived and when we left. I don't even remember what we ordered, but I do remember that we enjoyed it. This is what a restaurant should be like. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoseyOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Indian Star”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I recently went to dinner at the Indian Star Tandoori Restaurant while on holiday.

The staff were friendly and we were greeted warmly on arrival. We ordered a banquet and the food was timely, plentiful and very enjoyable. The waiting staff were attentive, yet not intrusive and we would definitely return if in the city again.

On leaving the restaurant we enquired as to the nearest taxi rank. The manager offered to drive us to our hotel which we gratefully accepted. This truly goes beyond customer service and was very unexpected.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
“Great food & service everytime”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Indian Star has consistently been the very best of Indian food & service in Rotorua for the 14 years that we've been dining there. Often is the only busy restaurant in town! Ray greets the regulars by name and with a handshake - great customer service!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank no1dares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Star Tandoori Restaurant also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Indian Star Tandoori Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing