We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best shared Indian appertiser we have had”

Indian Star Tandoori Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 229 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Rotorua's most awarded restaurant with awesome atmosphere and flawless service.
Waikanae, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best shared Indian appertiser we have had”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We ordered the shared appertiser and it was great value for money. We didn't really need the mains we had ordered so ended up taking half of them home. The food and service were great.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SueDavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    863
    296
    65
    23
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
“Indian Star Rotorua excellent”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Consistently good food and service. Have been here numerous times! Probably the best Indian restaurant we have frequented and always good value for money compared to what you can pay for some pretty average meals else where. Highly recommended!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pathetic service, food & attitude”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Looking at the reviews about Indian star , we went very enthusiastically for dinner there when we were visiting Rotorua in December 2013. All their certificates of being the best rated restruant were displyed outside , but we were horrified by the hoitey toitey attitude of the staff , for eg after giving the order when we politely requested them to repeat the order just to ensure if they recorded everything, we were told well whatever u stated will be obliviously recorded! This is just a small example of their horrendous attitude. Anyways thanks to them we had quite a horrible evening. Hope this review is a lesson for them to buck up. Will never recommend anyone to go there !

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RSMS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great service, a welcoming smile and consistently great food...”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is a home town review, but after a long time away from Rotorua. We lived outside the city, both overseas and in Auckland, for 18 months. When we returned I was unable to eat even mildly hot spicy food, so our favourite Indian Star was out of play.
However, just before Xmas I decided to risk it. I went into the Indian Star for the first time in 2 and half years.
Ray, the owner overheard me give my name as I ordered the takeaways (asking for mild as mild on the chili). I am a lot thinner than the last time I was in, but he recognised me, shook my hand and underlined to the guys to make sure it was mild (tough for an Indian restaurant owner, I'm sure!).
He even remembered I like a nice white while I waited and one arrived with a lovely fresh popadom.
My taste buds still don't work 100%, but the food was lovely - still tingly, but not too much.
Friends who visit, as well, tell me that there are no issues if you want/can handle it a lot hotter.
Returned last evening and it was the same and the food was as good always.
Thanks to Ray and his team for their kindness, hospitality and cuisine...we'll be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GraemeSNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food, great service despite a VERY busy night”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We visited here New Years Eve 2013 on what was a very busy night with several large groups. Was the perfect location to spend the evening.

We have eaten here before many years ago, so ordered the buffet as we remembered enjoying it in the past. My 9 year old son also enjoyed the buffet ay half price which I thought was reasonable and he thoroughly enjoyed it, but we were also offered the choice of a kid's meal. He is already nagging us to go back! The timing between courses was perfect, and at no time we were rushed despite the steady flow of public walking in and requesting a table.


Ray greeted us and treated us like royalty (along with all the other diners) and ensured that everyone was happy and enjoying their meals and offering to top any buffet dishes up.


It's good to see that after so many years, this place still serves such fine food and service, can't wait to go back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2shopaholics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Star Tandoori Restaurant also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Indian Star Tandoori Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing