We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, not very good service”

Ambrosia Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #51 of 227 Restaurants in Rotorua
Price range: $4 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Ambrosia, with it’s beautiful traditional interior, was the first licensed restaurant in Rotorua and is a short stroll from picturesque Lake Rotorua. The superb setting offers a choice of dining either indoors or outdoors. The spacious indoor area with its vibrant décor, and richly polished wooden floors, or the large outdoor area, creates an ideal setting for enjoying breakfast, brunch, lunch or dinner, meeting friends for coffee or a having a few drinks and tapas after work. Fridays have happy hour from 5pm to 7pm with discounted drinks and cocktails. Ambrosia is perfect for functions, such as celebrating birthdays, anniversaries, work functions or weddings, and can seat 110 comfortably.Owner/Chef Kristopher has travelled extensively and has been in the restaurant industry for the past 19 years. His menu is global contemporary with dishes from around the world. Kristopher has seasonal specials, such as mulled wine to warm you on cold winter evenings, and offers an “early bird” dinner special – just $29 for three courses between 5pm and 7pm every day with the dessert, of course, being the ever-popular delicious dessert – Ambrosia.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good food, not very good service”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

food was good but service average. the waiter didn't even know the specials and i had to go all the way out the front of the restaurant to view them again.

not the best attitude from the waiters either. overall though the food was tasty.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    128
    87
    54
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Quality Meals”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We ate here in mid-February 2013. The atmosphere and ambience was very good, staff were pleasant and friendly. The meals were excellently presented and the quality of the food was very good indeed. It was expensive but worthy it. We would recommend it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Miro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Flavours”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Lamb special was absolutely a treat! A wonderful & sumptuous combination of flavours and superbly cooked.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KathreneC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely food but terrible service”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were recommended here by a friend who commended the cuisine. The food was average but maybe a little overpriced for what it is. The outdoor seating is great, I like how Rotorua has closed off the main street to allow for this outdoor arrangement (the band was neat also).

We waited in the restaurant to be seated but staff just walked past us and after 5-7 minute a young waitress asked us if we were OK. We were finally seated and given menus. After 15 minutes of being seated we were again not tended to so I headed up to the bar and waited another 10 minutes just for a rude Russian waitress to take my order (I'd like to note that the restaurant was not packed and there were at least 4 waitresses). Finally, a waitress came and took our table's orders. After 15 minutes the young waitress returned to advise that they'd run out of fish, I find this a little annoying when half the meal could have been cooked in this time. Our meals eventually arrived after an hour wait. The lamb was very nice and the other two didn't really like their meals.

Unfortunately, we won't be returning as it was not very good value for money.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Arihia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Good choice in Rotorua.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A lively restaurant and bar with a good buzz. The food was good quality as was the service. Has live entertainment some nights.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank StuartRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambrosia Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Ambrosia Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing