We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will keep returning!!”

Ciccio Italian Cafe
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Two Generations of the family (La Famiglia) work and run the Cafe, bringing their expertise together for an unforgettable Italian encounter.Ciccio is fully Licensed with a wide range of beverages available including both New Zealand & Italian wines by the glass or bottle. In the winter months you can cosy up on the couch next to the fire....come summertime you choose, basking in the glorious sun alfresco or, escape to air conditioned comfort. Relaxed casual dining, great place to meet friends and family.Ciccio prides itself on serving authentic Italian food at affordable prices in a relaxed & casual environment that caters equally well for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner, Ciccio is well known for producing magnificent Cakes & goodies so duck in for a delicious treat, or relax with a coffee, beer or glass of wine.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

So so yummy, Love this restaurant! Very attentive service and always with a smile :) Also very helpful with a friends dietary issues - nothing was an issue what-so-ever. The food is always so tasty and beautifully presented, from the entree's right up to dessert! The cakes are to die for and enormous, the waitress informed us that some are around 13cm tall! Never fail to give us a good night out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Becaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for Ciccio Italian Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 359 of 464 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

I joined a group of work colleagues for dinner at Ciccio. They were packed. I can completely see why, the mains were delicious, but the cakes from the cabinet were so amazing I had a slice there then bought 2 more slices so I could have some later with my husband. The staff were happy and friendly, they took the time to answer questions, and made some great wine recommendations. Though the restaurant was busy I did not feel pushed to hurry like I have in many other places.
Thank you for a lovely night.

1  Thank nmmcintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Having eaten here on many occassions, we decided to bite the bullet with the high prices and have an Italian meal. We were disappointed to see that the standard of service has slipped. The restaurant was not full by any measure yet the wait staff were more interested in cleaning and setting up tables than taking orders. We noticed a number of people having to wait to be seated when there were tables available, and then, like us, wait at least 20 minutes to be asked for our orders. Sadly, this will be our last visit.

1  Thank BlacKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatout-Restaurants, Owner at Ciccio Italian Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for leaving your comment, we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us.
On the evening you dined with us we were busy clearing the tables from the first wave of evening customers. We always clean thoroughly between guests as we would hate for people to dine at a dirty table!
Some tables were empty as they had been pre-booked and this may have been confusing on the night to guests arriving to see tables empty while others were being cleaned.
We take orders in rotation of when guests arrived and we apologise if this meant you had to wait behind other that may have arrived slightly before yourself.
As for our prices- they have only just been slightly increased for the first time in 5 years, and this is not something that we receive complaints about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This restaurant presented the most fabulous dinner and dessert we have had. I highly recommend it. The service was so good and the staff gracious and efficient.

2  Thank Marjorie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stopped by here for lunch before the skies opened up. We had a couple of glasses of Aussie wines, (no NZ reds), and I had the diabla pizza and my wife had a salad. We were pleased with the food and the service.

1  Thank scvrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciccio Italian Cafe also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Ciccio Italian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing