We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and such rude service from the owner”

Ciccio Italian Cafe
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $21
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Two Generations of the family (La Famiglia) work and run the Cafe, bringing their expertise together for an unforgettable Italian encounter.Ciccio is fully Licensed with a wide range of beverages available including both New Zealand & Italian wines by the glass or bottle. In the winter months you can cosy up on the couch next to the fire....come summertime you choose, basking in the glorious sun alfresco or, escape to air conditioned comfort. Relaxed casual dining, great place to meet friends and family.Ciccio prides itself on serving authentic Italian food at affordable prices in a relaxed & casual environment that caters equally well for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner, Ciccio is well known for producing magnificent Cakes & goodies so duck in for a delicious treat, or relax with a coffee, beer or glass of wine.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great food and such rude service from the owner”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

we ate here on a saturday night
beware! grumpy owner who needs to take a zantax
THIS SHOP CLOSES @ 9:30 on the dot and if your not out grumpy owner makes the staff feel bad and the customers even worse
I would not think someone that owns a cafe that charges $27-30 each for pasta and calls that cafe prices should be a little flexible on a close time but NO 9:30 on the dot
but on a better note the food was fab
NEW HAPPY OWNER needed enquire at the shop

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank mattanddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    115
    29
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of our favourites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Lovely food and service as always. One of our favourite places to eat in Rotorua

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank hispetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokoroa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“BEYOND DELICIOUS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

I thought the shiny floors would be hard to beat BUT I would rate Ciccio's food as the best restaurant I have ever eaten at, I would rate it as high as my mums cooking ( she's the best)

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Too many negatives ...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Booked table and arrived on time (two adults and 15 and 12 yr old boys) to find two small round tables two person tables had been pushed together which immeditely made our seating arrangement awkward. Menus were brought but we had to ask for water twice. Service was generally slack - when drinks were brought eventually the waitress dropped the straws for our children's coke on the floor and took a while to bring more straws. Starters were good but mains were ordinary. Definitely not value for money. We spent four nights in Rotorua and ate out every night. This was the most expensive restaurant and our lowest rating.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemaire1513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“AMAZING, AMAZING, AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Omg!!! My friend and i wanted to indulge and extremely happy with our choice of restuarant!

Was greeted by very friendly staff who took an interest in our holiday. when we told her our plans for the Ragga Muffin festival she took time out to locate a magazine with infor about the after party. She also was very helpful with taking a photo for us too.

We didnt have to wait long to have our orders taken and for them to get delivered.

we shared our entre, garlic prawn skewers and salt n pepper calamari. And OMG! The food was absolutely amazing!!! We also had a greek salad to share and it was a huge serve and yummy!! We then had the carbonara and seafood marinara and was also amazing! Presentation and serving was just great!! For desert we had the vanilla custard slice and peach n passionfruit cheesecake that was just to die for!

We will definately come back for a great meal, service and for a reasonable price too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller2787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciccio Italian Cafe also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Ciccio Italian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing