We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fuel for the day!”
Review of Capers Epicurean

Capers Epicurean
Ranked #11 of 227 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Healthy, Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Capers has a passion to provide our valued customers with food that is both good for your body, soul and for the planet. With our free-trade coffee beans and organic deli products, sustainability is at the top of our priorities. For over a decade, the Capers team have been making and serving wholesome foods and a great coffee and edgy T2 teas. Whether it's a catch up with friends, weekend brunch, business breakfasts, family outing, food on the go, or a dinner date - we have got you covered.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fuel for the day!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We didn't sample the evening menu here but had two great breakfasts! Fantastic choice served in a friendly manor. A great start to the day!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Newman_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    233
    52
    27
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good but very expensive”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

$12 for a bagel and cream cheese? $18 for mushrooms on toast?
Good food but terribly expensive.
Prices are not posted on the menu board!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rascaloidus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Capers is a delight”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We ate in Capers three weeks ago while on vacation in Rotorua, N. Z. Everything we had for lunch was delicious, especially the kumara ( sweet potato) salad. I could have ordered one of everything in their deli section. They also have on site dining and a small gourmet food section. Their breakfast menu also looked superb. Highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newplacestofind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, WA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great deal - great food”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Best meal so far in NZ. The owner of the B&B recommended Capers to my wife and I tonight and provided an incredile voucher others have mentioned below. $40 for 2 main dishes and 2 glasses of wine. We both had the T-Bone steaks that were cooked properly and were good quality. The meals came with griled veggies, fantastic potato/kumara gratin and the highlight of our meal, a boccoli, cheese phylo roll. Everything was very good and the portions were absolutely huge. Ordering at the counter seemed a bit odd but overall it was a great meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank woodguy000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and service”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Consistently good food and service, & great coffee. Seafood chowder is one of the best I have ever had

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capers Epicurean also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Capers Epicurean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing