We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but tasty” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Ephesus

Cafe Ephesus
Ranked #135 of 219 Restaurants in Rotorua
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small but tasty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Had a couple of pizzas here and loved the Rotorua Special but the seafood one was very soggy - too much sauce.
Had to feel sorry for wee lass who had to run in and out of the place especially when cold - suggest the bys out the bcak try standing out the front enticing customers when its cold.
Overall nice food and would go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank westagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    78
    32
    21
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great little place for a tasty, value meal and BYO. Don't expect fine dining. Pizzas are amazing and my favourite is Ephesus Chicken. We're about due for another visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gruffalomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I often come here for lunch midweek. The woodfire pizzas are lovely, but my favourite is the Iskender meal with chicken. It comes with salad, hummus, tzaziki and rice - beautiful!! Its very reasonably priced and the service is great also.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank citylights10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good for a wholesome feed.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Food was fine and plenty of variety on the menu but on the night we went, the poor young waitress was a one-woman-band and rushed off her feet.
The lamb cutlets was expensive relative to the size of the dish.
Appreciated the Efes beer served in a lovely Efes bowl like glass.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank K1W1couple12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Food great, service great, but a 45 minute wait?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just home from dinner at Cafe Ephesus. Food was great - tasty, plenty of it and not bad value for money. Our waitress was great friendly and prompt. Why oh why did we have to wait nearly an hour for dinner. When we saw a take-out customer served before us we were annoyed. When the guy behind the counter couldn't Give a stuff - that's not really on. What a shame - just another poor service experience in a major tourist venue!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottandLorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Ephesus also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Cafe Ephesus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing