We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lebo with a taste for the old style.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Ephesus

Cafe Ephesus
Ranked #134 of 219 Restaurants in Rotorua
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Lebo with a taste for the old style.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Awesome place, our family party of 8 were seated within minutes, made to feel very warmly welcomed and appreciated by our waiting staff.
Starters, mains were extremely good value, full of delightful flavours and reminders of many of my younger days meals with my older Middle Eastern family's.
Go here if you like your meals authentic, served well with style and panache.
Definitely going back next time we visit Rotorua.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    78
    32
    21
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Had dinner there last night, stuffed chicken special was excellent! (Should add to your menu!) All food was excellent and service was excellent! Would highly recommend!!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancyness33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Lovely day out in the sunshine. Stopped for a coffee only, which was well brewed and ended up having a Meze platter and Fish for the two of us for lunch. The Meze was great, plenty of it and a lovely blend of flavours. Also wandering in and seeing the genuine wood fired pizza oven explained why the breads were so nice. Good service, polite and efficient, without being to over-bearing.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GnRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ephesus revisited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

And its still as good as my earlier review. Food choice is excellent, the staff accommodating as my wife didn't want a normal large pizza and we requested a small size which they did and it was still too much so they boxed it for us. That was lunch the next day. And prices are still great with most mains around NZ$20. Well done Cafe Ephesus

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Retirees2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“LOVE it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Have been before, will go again! Service is friendly and very good. Every dish I have tried - at least 5 - has been fabulous and so tasty that I can't wait to return. Prices are very reasonable and the mains are big enough for 2 people with medium appetites to share if they want to have some room for a dessert. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Ephesus also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Cafe Ephesus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing