We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Cafe Ephesus

Cafe Ephesus
Ranked #135 of 229 Restaurants in Rotorua
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
West Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We had never tried Turkish food before but absolutely loved our meal here. We tried Guvec?? which was excellent. The service was great and very friendly too. I wish we'd been staying in Rotorua longer as we'd have gone back there again the next day!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnTheGoLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    82
    33
    24
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great name - poor meal”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I will always remember my visit to Ephesus in Turkey. What an amazing site. The majesty of the Library of Celsus was particularly impressive. A small cafe in Rotorua that has taken on the name (and image) of this historic site is definately less impressive.

Having completed the walk section of the Xterra half marathon around the scenic Blue and Green Lakes (worthy of a TripAdvisor rave - but no link), I stopped off in downtown Rotorua for lunch before driving home. The lake-end block of the main street has been designated an eating zone with restaurants aplenty and outdoor tables and umbrellas. A very attractive and appealing location for the hungry.

I evaluated the competing menues of the different cafes. The image of the Library of Celsus on the menu of the Cafe Ephesus lured me to dine in this particular cafe and I opted for their blackboard menu: 'Fish Burger'.

The waiter was effective and pleasant. A carafe of cool tap water was immediately supplied together with my order of orange juice (I was feeling virtuous after the half marathon and still had the drive home - so no wine).

However, the meal was a real disappointment. I had chosen the fish burger because it sounded reasonably healthy - oven roasted pita bread/salad/fish (and chips that I could ignore). The pita bread was stodgy and doughy - the fish was crumbed, overcooked and small - and overall the meal was not good.

There must surely be better eateries in this downtown restaurant block.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al_paca10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Awesome pizza with Turkish influence!”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We went to this great place on Good Friday! we had 2 pizzas and both were really good. Mine was a vegetarian with lots of spinach and Turkish yogurt, which I loved. My wife ordered another one which was almost like Turkish Iskander kebab in a pizza form! very delicious.
This may not be a flashy place, but the food is great and all of the staff were super-nice. totally recommend it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ehsan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!! Went back the very next day”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed for five days in Rotorua and even though we visited some of the most opulent restaurants in Rotorua, cafe Ephesus was our favourite.

I had their oven baked Greek Pizza two days in a row. Absolutely divine! We left craving more.

Partner tried a few other dishes also. The staff were very friendly and the menu was great. The food was authentic and I would highly recommend it!

Food was very affordable. AAA+++

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meliss_John18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Huge Plates of Tasty Food”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stumbled upon this Turkish/Greek restaurant one evening and was pleasantly surprised by its very tasty food. We had a pizza and pasta, the latter was a huge helping of delicious seafood mix. We looked around and saw people with entrees the size of main courses. Better still, the prices were really very reasonable. The service was friendly and fast. Although they serve alcohol, the meat is all halal. I recommend people give this place a try...you won't be disappointed and above all, you won't be hungry for a long time afterwards.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hajijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Ephesus also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Cafe Ephesus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing