We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional food”
Review of Bistro 1284 - CLOSED

Bistro 1284
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
277 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Exceptional food”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Read about this place in Lonely Planet and thought we'd give it a try. Wonderful experience. Had grilled ciabatta bread with olives as a starter, steak with a bearnaise sauce that was so good you moaned over it, smoked portabellas, spinach and french fries with truffle oil and mayonnaise. For dessert we shared a trio of lemon panacotta, frozen lemon mousse and gelato. The friendly staffer/owner? even looked up a cocktail recipe for us when we inquired about a liqueur. Fine dining.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Darlene51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    82
    27
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing desserts!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We just dropped into 1284 for a dessert before a movie, not expecting very much, but we were completely blown away by the amazing desserts. Very professional presentation, amazing flavours and friendly but high quality service. Fully intend to go back to try the full menu next time we're in Rotorua!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Beef fillet”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

My wife and I had a great meal at this restaurant to celebrate our anniversary. We just popped in on the off-chance and got a table for two.The service was excellent and our beef meal was top class. I'd recommend them for a classy meal for a special occasion.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our best meal of 20 in NZ”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Modest menu options (good sign) with superb food, good service, and nice dining room (at least in front). Deserves their repeated awards

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FDRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stylish NZ cuisine and no pretension”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

My man and I wanted a special but un-fussy dinner and that's just what we got. The service was attentive but unobtrusive from the pre-dinner martini to the recommended muscat with dessert. It was hard to choose an entree. The pork belly with baked cider apple and black pudding jam or the house speciality of squid with lime dressing? I chose the duck liver pâté with fig relish. Fir a main i was tempted by the lamb cooked three ways but the beef fillet with smoked mushrooms was incredible. The best was yet to come - passionfruit creme brûlée with coconut marshmallow. Wow.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kahusmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 1284 also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing