We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hot pools!”

Waikite Valley Thermal Pools
Ranked #7 of 112 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Waikite Valley Thermal Pools provides the opportunity to relax and experience the pure natural geothermal waters from the Te Manaroa Spring. Facilities include The Pukeko in the Ponga Tree Cafe, a splash pool with adjoining toddlers play area, passive bathing pools, private spas, nature trail and separate changing, toilet and shower area for families. Waikite Valley Thermal Pools also offers powered and non powered campground sites.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hot pools!”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We are on our honeymoon trip and arrived in Rotorua yesterday. We visited the thermal spa for the afternoon after having it recommended to us by a local. It took about half an hour to drive from our motel and it was definitely worth it. We spent 40 minutes in the private pool which was bliss! A good selection of pools of different temperatures and an interesting short walk along the Eco trail. It was a beautiful sunny day which added to the experience! Definitely worth a visit and good value for money.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    255
    52
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“:)”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I come here at least monthly being a local. I love it so much! Perfect for relaxation. more than one option for spa/pool and also temperature.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank helend1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

After reading through the reviews on here I decided to head to this one rather than the one at Rotorua which was double the price. We have been to a number of hot pools throughout NZ- Hanmer, Tekapo and various NI ones but these hot pools are something different. So quiet and peaceful and most times we were the only ones in the pools which had spectacular pools. We paid an extra $3 each for a private pool for 40mins which is worth it! A lovely view! A wee stroll up the trail is worth it too. I think we will be back to camp over summer as access to hot pools is free if you camp there :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank LaurenWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“All the family loved it!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We visited these thermal pools on the recommendation of our motel and were very pleased we did! We were a little unsure whether our children (8, 6 and 3) would enjoy it, especially as it was a reasonably cold winter's day, but they loved it! There is a large family pool, which is kept at 35-38 degrees as well as smaller spa pools with fantastic views over the steaming valley. You can soak in one of the smaller pools and keep an eye on your children in the family pool at the same time, so we all managed to have a great time! The cafe is very good for snacks and drinks.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely end to a busy, cold day.”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The pools were lovely and hot, which was perfect after we had been outside all day in the cold. We bought our toddler with us and she loved it. There were heaps of children in the large pool that were making lots of noise so i would suggest the private section (extra cost) if you wanted some privacy or a more intimate setting.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ashdan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waikite Valley Thermal Pools also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Waikite Valley Thermal Pools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing