We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thermal Pools and Campsite too”

Waikite Valley Thermal Pools
Ranked #7 of 112 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Waikite Valley Thermal Pools provides the opportunity to relax and experience the pure natural geothermal waters from the Te Manaroa Spring. Facilities include The Pukeko in the Ponga Tree Cafe, a splash pool with adjoining toddlers play area, passive bathing pools, private spas, nature trail and separate changing, toilet and shower area for families. Waikite Valley Thermal Pools also offers powered and non powered campground sites.
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thermal Pools and Campsite too”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We booked the campsite which is adjacent to the thermal pools. Access to the pools is included in the site fee so it is very reasonable. We enjoyed an afternoon soaking in the pools and also had a quick dip in the morning too! Enjoyed dinner in the cafe on site. Campsite facilities are basic but clean and offer excellent value for money when you consider that the camp fees are only a fee dollars more than entry to the pools for two.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank melw266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    255
    52
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Not convinced”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The thermal spa itself was beautiful, warm, relaxing and I felt regenerated after a long day. But the overall place lacked authenticity. We paid for a 'private spa'. But when we arrived at the spa we were very disappointed. There was no great outlook. In fact, there was no view at all. We felt like we were just in a small room with a normal small spa. It took away from the thermal experience. Next time, I'll hunt down a 'mud bath' and thermal spring that offers a more unique, 'natural' setting. Bit disappointed but still glad we took the opportunity for a soak.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MissyKafoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Out of the way”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Forget the crowds...this place is quiet and out of the way...well setup and inexpensive comparatively. a bigger warm pool, and three hot pools in a lovely setting. There are lockers and a nice eco walk. The only thing it could have would be a cool pool to dip into for a refreshing break.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank elvis_kremmen_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not over crowded & peaceful”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The price was $15 per person and after staying for 3 hours, it was definitely worth it - if we didn't have a booking to leave for, we would have stayed longer for sure!

They have private pools available for extra $ but this place was not overcrowded by tourists and it was mid day in peak summer/holiday period. There was also 6 pools for everyone to spread out between making it feel even more private already.

The facilities appeared well up kept and even in NZ's cooler weather the pools made you completely forget about how cold you were early that day, making it a great attraction for any weather NZ throws at you!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing afternoon of touristing”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had a great couple of hours at the thermal pools. We booked a private pool for 40mins and would recommend this. It was a great chance to relax and ease aching muscles. Good value for money.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cait_Steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waikite Valley Thermal Pools also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Waikite Valley Thermal Pools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing