We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Townhouse review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
East West Studio Apartments
Ranked #16 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Reviewed March 3, 2010

Stayed in the north townhouse. Our rate was $445.50 for 3 nights (approx £209.89). The property was large over two levels.

We got courtesy transport at the end of the stay, which was appreciated but the courtesy transport forgot to pick us up on arrival off the bus. This was fine with us as we walked from town.

This is a review not a complaint. I write my reviews on how the property is given to the guest on the first day – the standard of the property and cleanliness etc Yes things can be put right after arrival – but who wants people in cleaning after you’ve just arrived? Just because the owners weren’t alerted to any issues doesn’t mean these issues don’t exist. With such a short stay it’s not worth being disturbed to get cleaning done. Only issues that would severely affect the stay would be brought up at the time. To back up reviews I take pictures (as no better proof) of any issues if possible and the review is done on the day of arrival – when really things should be clean for the entering guests. My review takes in negative & positive aspects. This site is all about honest opinions and impressions of guests. Looking with a once over yes the place looked clean when signing in it’s not till you start to live in it do you see the small amount of areas not clean and i do repeat it was only a few areas not totally clean. Everything mentioned here is a true review of the stay.

It may not happen to everyone but we had a few areas that weren’t too clean – photos taken - although only 10 can be submitted on tripadvisor.

Positives –
The property had a good utility room with washing machine and powder supplied; you also had a small washing line outside to hang up your washing on. Friendly hosts with good local knowledge.
This was a semi-detached house with the utility room as you entered and off to the bathroom with shower & toilet. Good sized kitchen with full cooking facilities, through to the lounge with sofa, dining table, chairs and TV. Open stair case led up to the small toilet and basin, then through to the 2 bedrooms - both with really good storage. Each day you get your nations flag put up on their flagpole which is a nice touch.

A Countdown supermarket is only about an 8-10 mins walk over the road. The house is on a quiet side street.

On arrival Kirsten showed us everything and also the spa just outside the house. While this was nice it was very closed in - spa was inside a wooden hut covering - be nice to have it open air. There was a compact swimming pool onsite.

Negatives –
The house had a few cleaning issues - the oven gloves had several food stains from previous guests, the blue sofa had a slight stain on it, the dining table had a strand of hair left on it and the radiator (downstairs bathroom, photo taken) had rather a lot of dust on it. The flowers next to the TV were plastic - and had gathered dust. The TV remote was missing its battery cover. Few stains on the small black chair.

The property had quite a lot of scuff marks on the paper work on the stairs heading up to the bedroom (possible luggage damage from previous guests) and the lamp in the main bedroom had a small rip - little touches that could be sorted out. Despite the booking website saying this had been newly decorated!

Rest of review –
There is a large set of rules for the house (a book with several pages of them) - such as if you take the TV off the sky and the owners need to re-tune this - you will be charged $100. If you don't leave the kitchen tidy you will be charged $20. You had to take your rubbish out before leaving. Any guests you have visiting must leave by 10pm. Cleaning items such as toilet duck and a hoover were included - I got the feeling I should be doing the cleaning, but this was meant to be a serviced apartment and no extra charges were mentioned prior to booking about a possible tidy up fee.

Wifi was available at an extra cost.

Free on site car parking if required.

The north townhouse was overall an enjoyable stay, this is mainly a positive review but the few cleaning issues lost the property marks. I would still recommend guests stay here while in Rotorua.
While we were on a discounted rate this review is on condition of property on entry. Rotorua has many attractions like the Thermal wonderland would be a must see, others such as Mitai Maori Village while the cultural show was good overall it was touristy and did not cater for vegetarians on the night I went.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27L09R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustyPukehina, Directors at East West Studio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2010

East West Boutique Apartments has already posted the response below, and published as a Management Response this week. We are most concerned that our response has been removed from the site, and the complainant’s comments reinstated at a later date. In the interest of fairness of right of reply, we request that our response is reinstated without further delay:

East West Boutique Apartments management appreciates factual feedback; however we are dismayed that the majority of comments provided by this guest’s perspective as over exaggerated & inaccurate.

This complainant was generously upgraded prior to arrival to a fully self contained townhouse for a longer stay, at a discounted rate, which was gratefully accepted.

As per our check in policy, these guests were personally shown around the property with one of them signing off our registration and acceptance form after inspection. This form, retained on our record, clearly stated that should any issue be found not meeting satisfaction, to report to us immediately allowing us to do our very best to rectify the situation, and perhaps offer some form of compensation if justified. They were provided with courtesy transport on their departure, & not reporting any issues at that opportunity, expressing gratitude for their stay. East West management remained totally unaware of any problems, and unable to prove otherwise.

Our concern is, the complainant making inaccurate allegations which cannot be fully proven as fact. East West management therefore does not accept responsibility for unreported issues in retrospect.

East West management networks closely with other high quality Rotorua attractions the complainant has provided negative comment on, all of whom are equally puzzled as they are reassured that they operate are high quality products and like us, are not concerned about an isolated complaint impacting on their businesses.

On a positive side, the complainant has rated us over all as a high four star, and would recommend us to a friend, of which we are most grateful. We are very sorry this guest found so much wrong with her trip en route, and during her New Zealand stay at many of the places visited.

East West Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 68 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2010

We stayed recently and everything was very clean and tidy. We stayed un the 2 bedroom townhouse which was perfect for us. It was of a high standard and I have no complaints about anything. The supermarket and city centre was right around the corner. After sightseeing all day the pool and spa could not have been more perfect. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPG24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We stayed here recently in January 2010 whilst driving around the north island. East West apts. are in a great location, steps from the shops and centre of Rotorua. We stayed in the East wing apt/suite within the main house. There was a large sitting room with 2 single beds to the side, table, chairs, microwave and ttv. The separate bedroom had a double bed and large built in wardrobe. Large bathroom also, all very clean and SO comfortable. Our hosts Kristin and Stuart Campbell Smith were most welcoming and very helpful in planning our limited time in Rotorua. I would reccomend a stay here to everyone. Our apartment would have accomodated 4 people and there are small cottages outside if larger families are staying,

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeStephy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

6 of us visited Rotorua to play Golf.The boys also mountain bikied and girls shopped
We had a Studio Suite and the other 4 had the Kiwi Cottage where we all ate at night.We were 5 minutes walk to the City Centre and 5 minutes drive to the Golf Course. The owners were very knowledgeable about their City & the mountain bike circuits. Our Studio was luxurious & very quiet. The Kiwi cottage was like a small home away from home, and the hot pool was great for the bones.......

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfer2034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

We have just got back from 2 nights staying at the north apartment. It is close to the main road the accomodation was very clean and well maintainted. It had 2 bedrooms a fantastic shower (great pressure!) and cosy couches and had full sky digital. The hosts were lovely and very helpful with what to do around Rotorua. The rate we got was excellent and we wouldnt hesitate to stay here again or reccomend it to others. Thanks once again, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jada_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

We booked the Kiwi Gdn cottage for 6 of us to share and the house was lovely! We had our own jaccuzi pool, nice little yard and parking space. The owner, Cris and Stuart, were both friendly and nice. Showed us how to use the facilities etc. The rate was reasonable as well. Supermarket is less than 5 mins walk from the accommodation so it's pretty convenient!

Definitely a accommodation to consider while visiting Rotorua!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBmehmeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

We stayed here for two nights in the North Townhouse. A semi-detached two storey house with two bedrooms, one with a little Tv, well-equipped kitchen, downstairs shower and loo, plus upstairs toilet, utility area with washing machine plus a comfortable lounge with patio doors. The place was spotless. Wifi available for a few dollars. The hosts, Kirsten and Stuart, were two of the most accommodating hosts of all the places we stayed in on our 30 day trip to New Zealand. At the back of the house is a hot tub solely for the use of the North and South houses. The swimming pool is a hop, skip and a jump across the main house's driveway. I couldnt fault it. The location is great - a quiet side street but only a few minutes walk to the local supermarket and restaurants. You even get your country's flag hoisted on the pole during your stay - a nice touch! Why stay in a hotel when you can stay in your own little oasis with all the comforts of home?

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
219 reviews
0.6 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#26 of 92 in Rotorua
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.0 mi away
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
#21 of 92 in Rotorua
337 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East West Studio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East West Studio Apartments

Address: 6 Toko Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: $112 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East West Studio Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIQUE accommodation - CENTRAL location in the HEART of Rotorua City, family owned & operated premium in house SELF CONTAINED & SERVICED studios, private bathroom, kitchenette, 2 x adult guests maximum occupancy, heated pool, off street parking, located within metres of Rotorua Central Mall, cafes, & spas & thermal wonders, and adventure activities close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your East West Studio Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing