We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loud, dirty, run down” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #50 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loud, dirty, run down”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

It was the worst place I've ever stayed by far, light sockets with no light bulbs, dead bugs smeared into the walls and ceiling, peeling paint, you get the idea. It was also very loud as they had a function on late into the night with the bar under our room. We tried to leave after we checked in but couldn't find another place that had vacancy. Really, really unclean and run down by North American standards in any case.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarianKeyesFan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    32
    29
    29
    21
See reviews for
18
51
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
157 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I chose The Grand Hotel at 1130 Pukuatua Street, Rotorua (appears to be same hotel as Hinemoa Street Address) as a place that was affordable for me and a male traveling companion I did not know well so we could be close to the centre of town and have separate rooms for privacy. I was not expecting anything swish and was more than pleasantly surprised at what we ended up with. I had booked the family room for only $179. It turned out to be two totally separate rooms, each with their own bathrooms and TV and coffee making facilities. They had double connecting doors if you wanted to use them. One room had a queen and single bed and the other had two single beds. There was a small fridge with minibar and coffee making facilities. Fluffy white towels and nice soap, shampoo and shower gel toiletries. The bed I slept in was comfortable but the pillows were a bit odd. The best part was the shower, it was spacious and had high pressure. After a long day traveling that was excellent and way better than most showers in more expensive hotels. It was a quiet hotel at night so we slept well. The rooms also had air conditioning units but I didn't use mine. Electric blanket was enough on a cold August night. There was ample off-street parking. And that's not all. The lovely lady at reception, Coyla, was so friendly and helpful. She gave us really good advice on sightseeing which turned out to be correct. The next morning we were treated to a really good continental breakfast in the dining room. It was apparently included in the room price so was a bonus as I had not realized when I paid in advance - we had a choice of three cereals (really good quality muesli, cornflakes and weetbix), orange juice, filter coffee and toast with three choices of jam and NZ butter. I would have liked to see Vegemite but didn't ask. The room seemed quite dimly lit but was otherwise comfortable to eat in. It seems to be set up for evening dining with large TV screen. There is a fantastic book shop next door - one you could spend hours in, and a nice short walk down to the lake and other attractions. You can do all your tour bookings at reception and they issue discount vouchers for several places. We went to Tamaki Village Evening Hangi Experience and Wai-o-Tapu geothermal area the next day. Both excellent. I would definitely stay at The Grand Hotel again. For less than the price of one room in other hotels we got two rooms and breakfasts. The experience was great and value unsurpassed.

Room Tip: Look on website - they have room layout details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cosmo132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Bay Whakatane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Booked in recently for two people and were both pleasantly surprised at the clean living space with lots of room including the bathroom facilities. It was lovely too that it was practically in the centre of town and handy to bars and cafes, some of which could be seen from our nice room. It was warm and cosy with a heat pump set to a comfy level and even more amazing we had electric blankets! That was such a bonus and a plus in our books. The hotel restaurant is just a short walk to the back of the hotel and on another street. They have a great menu there and a most generous serving too. The food was so yummy. The reception was welcoming too plus those in the bar and serving areas. We would definetly book there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delor01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We booked a budget room for two (double bed, own bathroom)

PROS:
- in an ideal location, close to shops, the I-Site, and other attractions
- very cheap, perfect for those on a budget
- helpful staff who are willing to solve problems

CONS
- cleanliness is sub-par; we couldn't even use the kitchen because it was so filthy. However, the staff offered us the use of their commercial breakfast kitchen
- there is a nightclub right next door, so if you need silence to sleep then you won't be happy here!
- the decor is terrible, and it feels a little like a prison

Overall, a good place to rest your head if you are on a tight budget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

If you're looking for value and location in Rotorua, this is a great place. While the hotel looks odd from the outside and the hallways and stairway are bashed up a bit(suitcases will do that)...our room was impeccably clean and in great shape! The staff couldn't have been any more helpful. When we were looking for Internet access and it wouldn't work, the attendant ran up and down the stairs several times to help us! The breakfasts were great, when we forgot something there, they were happy to wait for us when we were on our way through again to pick it up. Value and location were what we were looking for and that's exactly what we got! My only complaint? The pillows were hard! Ha if that's all to complain about ...well, that says it, doesn't it...

Room Tip: Front side is noisy from the street cleaners..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TK1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucknow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We spent four wonderful evenings in the premier room. The room and toilets were clean, spic and span. The staff was friendly, very helpful and ensured that we had no problems in checking in in spite of the late hour of our arrival. The breakfast was great. The location was perfect, just close to the I-site and the lake as well as the convention centre where we had the conference.
A great experience and great value for money.
We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Premier rooms are very good. Please check with the staff in case of late arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saneanil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#40 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Astray Motel
Astray Motel
#14 of 57 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rotorua Downtown Backpackers
0.1 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#5 of 57 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Rotorua

Property: Grand Hotel Rotorua
Address: 1130 Pukuatua Street | Rotorua CBD, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Rotorua 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Rotorua is an older style property located in the heart of Rotorua CBD. There are 38 rooms in total which can be divided into 3 categories (or room standards). There are 12 BUDGET Rooms or backpacker style rooms with private bathrooms which cater for those travellers wishing for some privacy and security in preference to a dormitory and on a limited budget. There are 7 ECONOMY Rooms which have the basics such as ensuite, TV, fridge, tea and coffee. They are clean and comfortable and ideal for short stays. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast in our breakfast room between 8.00am and 10.00amThere are 19 PREMIER Rooms which were renovated to a good standard and come complete with ensuite, TV, fridge, tea & coffee, phone, internet, hair dryer, iron & ironing board etc. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast in our breakfast room between 8.00am and 10.00am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing