We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Executive on Fenton
Ranked #43 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2011

I wouldn't quite call it an executive motel. It was average, nothing fancy, some let downs, reception on both tv's were bad, lines running through the picture, only one remote had batteries the other was nearly flat too. A friendly cockroach came running down the wall when in the bathroom & for some reason an extention lead running from one room, right the way around the walls into the bedroon?? Safety issue?? A nice hot shower is something we look forward to when on holiday as our home pressure isn't great & this would be the first place we've stayed at where the pressure was actually worse. For a 5 year old motel, surely decent pressure should be avaliable. Was fairly clean, although we found drink splatters?? down the frame of one door & over the ceiling plus spider webs over the light fittings. I wouldn't look at staying again, definately nothing to rave about.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca222222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 204 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2011

We checked into this motel with the intention of maybe staying 2 nights. I found this motel on my iphone offering rooms for $119 per night with complimentary breakfast, I checked in with a nice young girl and asked her should i book online or can she check us in then for the same rate which she said she would. We went out for dinner and i rang back to the motel to let them know what time we would like breakfast the next morning to be told we cant have it because i hadnt booked online, i explained to the rude lady on the phone that i had checked when we arrived and the girl told us that we could have the same deal to which after much debate she muttered that she would do it for us, what time. I asked for 8:30am. On arranging tours for my Japanese family, i called her back and asked for a 7:00 breakfast for 2 which she said we cant have because they open at 7:30 so i said to her 7:30 would be fine, she then went on to say shes not going to cook breakfast if they are not going to be there which i assured her that they would be so could we please have our compimentary breakfasts. I was pleasantly surprised to get 2 of the meals early at 7:15am with not so much as a good morning or a smile she comes to our unit door hands over the meals and with a demanding "are the other 2 still here" which i replied yes. I have guided many Japanese tour groups to rotorua, stayed in hotels and motels around nz with our previous business and have never seen such shocking bad kiwi hosting anywhere. It was only because i did not want to make a fuss in front of my Japanese mother in law and sister that i did not say anything but after staying at the Distinction Hotel the next night for just another $20 with full buffet breakfast my mother who is nearly 90years old made the comment that the people in this place are really nice and friendly not like the people the night before, and she speaks no english.
I can only assume that this is not an owner operated motel, if it is well maybe they need to look at another business, of course location and the inside of the units are important but if you dont have welcoming hosts it all is wasted.
Bad Bad experience. Never to return just going past the motel the next day while touring around was upsetting.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank yoyo077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Executive for 2 nights while exploring Rotorua and it's surrounds. The location of the hotel was right on the main street of Rotorua so made it incredibly easy to navigate to and from when exploring the attractions.

The room wasn't the largest but it was definitely big enough for the two of us, the bathroom was huge and the spa bath a plus. The room was modern and fitted with a kitchenette, had a dining table and several comfortable chairs. The TV in the room had a DVD player and the lady at reception encouraged us to borrow the many DVDs she has.

The lady was very accommodating when we asked for more pillows and offered us fresh towels as the room was cleaned everyday.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJGallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We actually took a look at rooms at a few other hotels and this one was by far the best quality room in the price range we were after.

The room itself, 1 bedroom executive suite, was spacious and well furnished with a modern look. It seemed a lot fresher than many of the other places we checked out. The bathroom was in great condition.

The location, while probably being a 20min walk from the centre of Rotorua, isn't really a problem because people seem to mostly drive around that town anyway. We cooked using the room's facilities (also easily sufficient for most people's needs) but there did look like a really nice restaurant next door if you didn't feel like cooking or going far.

My wife & I were more than happy with the place, and I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HD1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

A well located apartment block off the main drag in Rotorua. Helpful reception staff and clean, if slightly basic, studio apartments. Close to the cultural centre at Te Puia where you can see the geysers and attend an indigenous entertainment evening.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gra50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

I often say to people. Why pay top dollar for a room you should be not spending time in it anyway. You should be out experiencing the area. In this case however the weekend we chose to visit rotorua must have been one of the wettest in its history. It basically poured with torrential rain non stop from Friday til Monday. As such most of Rotorua's attractions were out so we had to spend a disproportionate amount of time in the room.

Happily in this case the room was pretty good. The room is standard in most ways having a separate bedroom and lounge area. A small but functional kitchen and a bathroom with a shower over. Overall the room was clean and tidy and reasonably modern It had a good sized LCD screen with a good selection of channels. There is a DVD player and the lend DVD at reception. Didn't do this so can't comment on the selection. The room package came with a breakfast which was standard fare but tasty enough and delivered to the room on time each morning.

The real star thou of this particular room was it has a enclosed/private courtyard with it's own private spa pool. The pool you fill yourself with hot or cold so you can set the temp was just fantastic on a weekend like this and we used it a lot. The only criticism is it has a sunshades over the top which was only like 95% waterproof which meant under this weekends torrent it was dripping through which made reading difficult and the water was a little cold. A minor thing.

I believe the rate including breakfast for 2 was $130 per night. So this was pretty good

Overall a great stay. Whilst the weather ruined the plans for the weekend. In the end it was a relaxing soak in the spa for most of it which was pretty good.

Glad we picked this place. If the price is right we will be back

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Although name didn't inspire me, I booked this motel for two nights after reading Tripadvisor eviews and was pleased with the choice. Our room was great- good size, comfortable and quiet. The staff were extremely helpful and really went out of the way to help us after we got caught in a deluge! Negatives were that walk into town was 15 mins and rather uninspiring, car parking might be a problem when motel is full (didn't appear that spaces equalled rooms).

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKSENIOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
0.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Devonwood Manor
Devonwood Manor
#78 of 92 in Rotorua
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tuscany Villas Rotorua - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#6 of 92 in Rotorua
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive on Fenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive on Fenton

Address: 285 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#31 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $95 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Executive on Fenton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Rotorua's newer properties. This Motel has 20 Rooms, there are One Bedroom Units, that can sleep up to 4 people. There are Executive Studios and Standard Studios. All rooms have a Spa Bath or Pool. FREE WIFI is available, also with a Restaurant right next door, open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Executive on Fenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive On Fenton Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing