We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must have been an off weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Executive on Fenton
Ranked #43 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
772 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Must have been an off weekend!”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is the sort of revue I'd rather not write but we chose this venue because of it's high rating with Tripadvisor and were somewhat disappointed. The shower pressure and breakfast were great, as were the reasonable places to eat nearby, including a great fish and chip shop, but the unit we had on the ground floor was less than basic and the service was marginal at best. We had a unit that was set up for people with a disability; it had no drawers whatsoever to put your clothes in, no vanities of any description in the bathroom so we had to put our toiletries on the small window ledge (and the hotel ones were not replaced with the room servicing and neither was the milk) we could only watch the tv by sitting on the bed, there as only enough dishwash liquid for one small dishwash, and of the two mugs and two cups, none matched. At one stage when there was no management or even staff onsite (and this happened at least twice in the two days that we stayed ) we tried to help a hapless couple get back into their room because they had left their keys at the front desk and returned to find their room locked and there was no one available to let them in, and the only contact point for emergencies was to dial 809 and as there was no phone outside the reception area we went to dial this for them from our room only to find that it had no phone either. The following day we again had a problem and found that there was neither management nor staff onsite. We're not sure if we would return, and if we did we'd certainly want a different unit and would take greater care in booking as we found that our credit card which we used to secure our booking was immediately debited for the full duration of our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room like you see on the brochure or on the internet and check whether your card is being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Narziss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    83
    26
    20
    5
See reviews for
38
102
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We spent a couple of nights here on our way round North Island. We had an upstairs suite with spa bath and kitchenette. It was all perfectly clean and comfortable. Breakfast brought to your room was included, but there wasn't a choice, it was eggs, bacon, toast and spreads. There is Urbano restaurant next door which serves great food but is pretty expensive. Otherwise you have to go into town, where there is lots of choice. We had a nice Italian meal at Nuvolari. We visited the excellent Museum in the Government Gardens, the Ohinemutu Maori settlement on the lake, and the Waiotapu thermal experience a little way out of town, and there are lots of other things to see and do if you have more time.

Just a couple of grumbles. We had considerable trouble connecting to the free Wi-fi while we were there, and there is a German shepherd dog which seems friendly but actually growled and nipped my leg when I was going down between the rooms to find the receptionist to say goodbye. Just being protective I suppose, but watch out for him/her.

Room Tip: Upstairs is better so you aren't bothered by too many other people walking past your windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

nice motel....pretty clean. rooms nice size. has a spa bath. staff were lovely and extremely helpful on things to do. bit far out of town (can walk), pretty cheap. can get DVDs from reception, WIFI was OK (but free!)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank early30_irish_male
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Very tidy, modern, spacious comfortable rooms serviced daily. Rooms are surprisingly sound proof. Felt bad staying over with a newborn but checked with neighbours and they couldn't hear a peep. Handy to restaurants, shopping and sightseeing. The spas in each room a bonus. But the real asset is the staff. They are all accommodating and offer great advice on where to go in town. Would definitely recommend this motel for anyone staying over in Rotorua. I will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jade1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Beautiful soak in spa bath, in fact we had a couple of soaks- wonderful as we had just finished hiking near Lake Waikaremoana and had very tired legs. Room was very clean and good quality accomodation, looks as if it has been recently renovated. Very quiet rooms with good sound proofing and heating. We didn't hear a thing from the people in the room next door, no doors slamming or water running like in other hotels, and no road noise heard either which mad efor a good nights sleep. Very helpful staff who recommended a beautiful Indian Restaurant in Rotorua. I was well impressed with the standard of the Executive on Fenton.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Lara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Was perfect for our impromptu stay on Sunday night in Rotorua. Our young boys loved the private spa. Room was clean and tidy and very warm and toasty. Beds were comfy and it felt very homely. Welcoming and friendly staff. Thank you so much for making our stay a wonderful one.

Room Tip: The rooms with the spas are great to entertain the kids of all ages
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biffy60, Owner at Executive on Fenton, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your review, love it, when your efforts get a notice. Thank you for taking the time to write!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here for a three day weekend away from auckland.
Caroline and all her staff were friendly and helpful.
Room was clean and tidy and only a couple of minutes from the centre of Rotorua, having a personal spa off the bedroom was awesome.
room was serviced everyday. we will defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jodie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biffy60, Owner at Executive on Fenton, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you to a wonderful couple, who stayed for three days, and even though they came to sit and soak in the hot tub, they may not have been able, one of the nights, due to the breakdown of the geothermal bore. They were truely delightful and understanding and a pleasure to host. People like this, make this job, the reason why I love it so much!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#13 of 92 in Rotorua
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#6 of 92 in Rotorua
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Geneva Motor Lodge
Geneva Motor Lodge
#33 of 92 in Rotorua
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tuscany Villas Rotorua - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive on Fenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive on Fenton

Property: Executive on Fenton
Address: 285 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Executive on Fenton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Rotorua's newer properties. This Motel has 20 Rooms, there are One Bedroom Units, that can sleep up to 4 people. There are Executive Studios and Standard Studios. All rooms have a Spa Bath or Pool. FREE WIFI is available, also with a Restaurant right next door, open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Executive on Fenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive On Fenton Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing