We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rotorua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandi's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Bellevue, WA
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“What a treat”
Reviewed March 10, 2009

This place was quite a surprise. The street appeal is not good. Busy street, truck filling up the driveway. But then we found the real story. Sandi is probably more nice, friendly, and helpful than any person in New Zealand. We were led to one of the two stand-alone cabins in the rear of her property. The rooms were spectacular and surround a swimming pool that is heated to perfection. Our neighbors in the adjoining room were also wonderful people, and we spent some pool time with them as well as Sandi and Sandi's husband. Breakfast was served to the four of us around the pool -- could not have been nicer.

We made the mistake of asking if we could do some laundry. Not only did Sandi do it for us, but she ironed stuff that has never been touched by an iron before. I had to sneak some dollars in the guestbook because she wouldn't charge me.

Rotorua is a very enjoyable town, and not just because of the thermal activity. Nice restaurants (Lewishams) in downtown, the Rotorua museum, St. Faith's Church, and free concerts in the band stand on Sunday in front of the museum. But the main attraction was the fun and hospitality that we enjoyed at Sandi's.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rerBellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    18
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
58
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
preston
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2009

Stayed two nights at Sandi's B&B in Rotorua. Whilst we may have stayed at more sophisticated accommodation during our NZ visit, our stay at Sandi's was the most memorable. The self-contained accommodation was spotlessly clean and comfortable with everything we could need. Breakfast of was lovely. We were invited to use the swimming pool as if it was our own. What really made this place stand out was Sandi herself. She is a lovely lady and imparted her knowledge of the area to us which proved invaluable and sent us to local places we woldn't have found ourselves. She asked us to leave any washing we wanted doing and when we came back in the evening it has even been ironed. She really couldn't do enough. If you're looking for affordable accommodation with that little bit extra then give Sandi's a try.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
2 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2008

Sandi's B&B is a lovely, comfortable place on the outskirts of Rotorua. When we arrived Sandi was away looking after her elderly mother who had just had an operation. We were greeted by the charming Mike (husband) and the lovely Chelsea (daughter) as well as the black cat, Sooty. There are a number of cats at Sandi's - the friendly ones come and sit on the chalet veranda and accept some petting and spoiling if you are in the mood for them. Inside the decor is comfortable, there is a queen sized bed, bar fridge, TV, reverse cycle AC, table & chairs and plenty of room for bags, as well as lots of storage. The ensuite was clean and the shower was adequate. Breakfast is served at a pre-arranged time and consists of juice, fruit, cereal, bread for toasting. Tea, coffee & milk are available any time you wish. There is a lovely inground swimming pool and the garden is full of interest reflecting Sandi's love for it. When Sandi arrived home she could not do enough to assist us. She was full of suggestions for places of interest to visit and was just so gracious and welcoming. The B&B is set on a busy road and the entrance is a little tricky but the chalets are at the back of the block behind the main house and therefore very quiet. Recommended for those who don't want the anonymous and sterile atmosphere of a large hotel or motel.

  • Liked — Eclectic and interesting - very homely feel but not daggy or dirty. Sandi & family are gorgeous
  • Disliked — If pushed to give a negative I'd say the shower wasn't great
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilenthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

Okay - so if you are seeking the anonimity of a Motel 8 you shouldn't stay here. But if you want a kind and attentive host who is interested in ensuring that you have the most enjoyable possible stay and that you see the best of the area, then this definitely IS the place for you. The lovely cabins are comfortable and homely and Sandi is a generous hostess. Her breakfasts are delicious and brought to the room at a pre arranged time, and she does indeed do your washing which is fantastic if you are on a road trip around the island. I really enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJK4803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, NZ
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2008

What are your hopes for accommodation? Well mine are usually
clean, tidy and safe. I simply was blown away by the lovely Sandi, and her family.
Now, I travelled solo and I was thoroughly informed of all the
must see and do according to my taste. Moreover, I was given a mini tour of some of the highlights of the area such as Kuirau Park, the Polynesian Spa, the Museum of Art and Culture and the Redwood Forest Trail. Since the public transportation stops at 6pm. I was given a special late pick up by Sandi herself.
The breakfast was big and again catered to my dietary specification.
The lodging was very clean, warm and cosy. A daily chat with a cuppa was in order to see how the wandering visitor was coping.
Finally, just to quote a famous person "I'll be back" for some more of that pampering spirit.
Sandi please save a bed for me! Jennifer

  • Liked — The people
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennChristchurch_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2008

As we drove up to Sandi's B&B we thought we may have made a mistake. The main entrance is off a main highway and it is very conjusted in the front and difficult to park.

But first impressions are not always right. When you meet Sandi you will know why. She was one of the nicest people we met on our trip. Very helpful and gave us many travel tips. The price of the cottages is also very reasonable.

The rooms are actually small cottages behind the main building and are new and very confortable. We did not hear any road noise in the evening. She has a pool for your use and the very generous continental breakfast is delivered to your room in the morning.

All in all it was a very pleasant surpise and we would highly recommend staying here.

  • Liked — Sandi
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EddieBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2008

This B&B is very clean and comfortable and an excellent value. Sandi is a wonderful host and does everything to please her guests. As soon as we arrived, she offered to do our laundry (for free) and had many helpful suggestions regarding things to do. The B&B is well located, close to the gondola and the Agrodome (worth seeing) and a short car ride into town.

  • Liked — Owner is exceptionally friendly and helpful.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pearlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
706 reviews
3.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.4 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
3.8 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
490 reviews
1.7 mi away
City Lights Boutique Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandi's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandi's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sandi's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 103 Fairy Springs Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing