We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely - if a little quirky.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rotorua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandi's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely - if a little quirky.”
Reviewed November 3, 2008

Okay - so if you are seeking the anonimity of a Motel 8 you shouldn't stay here. But if you want a kind and attentive host who is interested in ensuring that you have the most enjoyable possible stay and that you see the best of the area, then this definitely IS the place for you. The lovely cabins are comfortable and homely and Sandi is a generous hostess. Her breakfasts are delicious and brought to the room at a pre arranged time, and she does indeed do your washing which is fantastic if you are on a road trip around the island. I really enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJK4803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    18
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
56
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, NZ
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2008

What are your hopes for accommodation? Well mine are usually
clean, tidy and safe. I simply was blown away by the lovely Sandi, and her family.
Now, I travelled solo and I was thoroughly informed of all the
must see and do according to my taste. Moreover, I was given a mini tour of some of the highlights of the area such as Kuirau Park, the Polynesian Spa, the Museum of Art and Culture and the Redwood Forest Trail. Since the public transportation stops at 6pm. I was given a special late pick up by Sandi herself.
The breakfast was big and again catered to my dietary specification.
The lodging was very clean, warm and cosy. A daily chat with a cuppa was in order to see how the wandering visitor was coping.
Finally, just to quote a famous person "I'll be back" for some more of that pampering spirit.
Sandi please save a bed for me! Jennifer

  • Liked — The people
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennChristchurch_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2008

As we drove up to Sandi's B&B we thought we may have made a mistake. The main entrance is off a main highway and it is very conjusted in the front and difficult to park.

But first impressions are not always right. When you meet Sandi you will know why. She was one of the nicest people we met on our trip. Very helpful and gave us many travel tips. The price of the cottages is also very reasonable.

The rooms are actually small cottages behind the main building and are new and very confortable. We did not hear any road noise in the evening. She has a pool for your use and the very generous continental breakfast is delivered to your room in the morning.

All in all it was a very pleasant surpise and we would highly recommend staying here.

  • Liked — Sandi
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EddieBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Ontario
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2008

This B&B is very clean and comfortable and an excellent value. Sandi is a wonderful host and does everything to please her guests. As soon as we arrived, she offered to do our laundry (for free) and had many helpful suggestions regarding things to do. The B&B is well located, close to the gondola and the Agrodome (worth seeing) and a short car ride into town.

  • Liked — Owner is exceptionally friendly and helpful.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pearlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, IL USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2008

Upon arriving at Sandi’s B&B my first pleasant surprise was the in-ground pool just outside the Lynmore Chalet. The second pleasant surprise was how helpful and friendly Sandi was in helping us get settled in, and then making some spot-on recommendations for dinner (the Pheasant Plucker) and for after dinner (at the Polynesian Spa for a soak in the hot thermal pools). The room and beds were very comfortable, and Sandi supplied a great breakfast of fresh fruit and cereal for breakfast. We were given some additional suggestions for spots to visit in the area (Rotorua Museum, Redwood Forest, and the Waiotapo Thermal area) on our way out the next day. The B&B was very close to downtown Rotorua, and even though it is on the main road into town, the cottage we were in was set back behind the main house and was very quiet.

  • Liked — Sandi's hospitality and convenience to sites
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnF_1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2007

We found Sandi through the Lonely Planet. I have to say that accomodation started weeks before check-in. Sandi was very prompt to help us book a Maori hangi & whitewater rafting trip, she pointed out some websites w/in 24 hours after each request. This was tremendously helpful as some places required a phone call instead of online reservations. Not only did she have a good knowledge of both places, she booked them for us and arranged them to pick us up!

As for the stay itself, absolutely gorgeous. Very comfortable, spotless, excellent breakfast! Sandi and her family really made us feel @ home! Highly recommended!

  • Liked — See review, + location (sulfa smell virtually nonexistent here)
  • Disliked — none @ this time
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EileenKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2007

This was one of the best stays we had during our trip to NZ. Sandi and her family are very friendly and welcoming. We stayed two nights at Sandi's. She has a unique set-up with three "chalets" behind her home. The room itself was very homey...it really felt as if you were staying with a friend. The room was just the right size with attached bathroom, small fridge and toaster. Sandi brought us our breakfast at our requested time the morning after we arrived and chatted with us about our plans for the day. She gave us some great tips about the sites we were planning to see. Then she told us that she was doing laundry for her family and she asked if we had anything we would like washed! This was much appreciated because we were in the middle of trip and had just been a hike the day prior and had some dirty articles. After our days events we were invited into their home to wait for our van pick-up to the Maori hangi. We had a nice discussion with their family.

A bonus for pet lovers: cute deaf terrier and several friendly cats!

  • Liked — The hosts are fabulous
  • Disliked — Slightly difficult to get to due to median in highway.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank xixixi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
2.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
690 reviews
2.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
2.1 mi away
B&B Abundance
B&B Abundance
#28 of 52 in Rotorua
13 reviews
3.8 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandi's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandi's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sandi's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 103 Fairy Springs Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing