We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rotorua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandi's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 9, 2012

An experience not to be missed, Sandi simply couldn't be more accommodating and nothing is too much trouble. It seems as if she is dedicating her day to your enjoyment. She knows the area very well and is full of useful advice. As she said you arrive as guests and leave as friends ... not so much a B&B more of a much loved and venerated institution. It's like nothing else you'll stay at... give yourself a treat.

Room Tip: Room out the back next to the swimming pool is good & quiet and affords easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 102 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

1 night. solo traveller.

Service started when I requested a room and she said she would pick me up from the bus teriminal/i-seek centre. Sandy wasn't there but left me a note welcoming me. The room was a very good size and contained a queen sized bed which was confortable and with good sheeting. Also came with a reverse cycle air conditioner and an electric blanket so you could make it as toasty as you liked. Had a reasonably large flat screen tv but i didn't have time to try it out. Breakfast was good and everything was spotless.

The only negatives i can think of is that it is a good 30 minute walk from the town. It doesn't bother me and there is an excellent baggage locker facility in the i centre (just $2) if you don't want to lug stuff around. I should point out that sandy drove me to the town centre and back with my main luggage bag although if she didn't I would have used the locker facilities.

I am a hard marker and 3 stars really is average but my stay here was excellent so i give 5 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredThriftyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We went to New Zealand in 2008 December and spend 2 nights at Sandi's B&B Rotorua. We were very late to write a review but I believe it is fair for me to write about this B&B eventhough our experience is few years back.
We had no difficulty on finding the house as we are using a GPS.
Once we reached at Sandi's house, she greeted us with a hot drink and biscuits. We booked a stand alone house behind the main house so our privacy is well kept.
There is even a small swimming pool in front of our room.
Sandi's was very friendly and even help us to book for a whitewater rafting activity and also the Maori cultural activity (include dinner).
every morning, Sandi''s will brought us a basket of food for our breakfast which we can have it at the terrace of the room, we enjoy the sunny weather while having our breakfast..:D
Overall, we are satisfied with Sandi's B&B and would like to thanks Sandi for her help during our stay in Rotorua,
Recommended to everyone who is visiting Rotorua.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rudy_setiawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Went to Rotorua in July . We got a little lost trying to find our way to Sandi's, but once we got there, Sandi gave us the warmest welcome! We were given a stand-alone house at the back of the property which was warm and cozy. We were able to do our laundry as well! We went out for dinner that evening and when we returned, the heater was turned on and the house was warm! Sandi and her husband are warm and friendly and Sandi really went out of her way to make us feel at home. She recommended places to eat and places to go with our family. Wonderful hospitality, Thanks - Sandi! We won't soon forget our trip to Rotorua!

Room Tip: you will need a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank third_culture_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Very nice b&b in this bustling town/city. Great heated small pool; superb breakfasts, comfortable accommodation. Sandi has her guests' wellbeing at heart and really pulls out all the stops to make them feel at home. Really recommended if you are in Rotorua.

Room Tip: small cottage by the pool has wifi connection (nb for travellers needing this, not all rooms do - ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We have stayed here 4or 5X The owner, Sandi, makes it such a special place. She is a warm, inviting ,informative, friendly, helpful. I can't say enough good things about Sandi,and her family is just as nice. I really like that her rooms are separate little cabins. So you don't have that feeling of being in some else's home. She services you breakfast in your own cabin. Please don't be put off by how it looks from the outside. It looks a little tired, but tired like your favorite hugged a lot, teddy bear, it bring back warm, special memories. The cabins are warm an homey. You feel like your mother is spoiling you. Not like a hotel would feel at all. or other B&B'S would. And see gives you the inform on the attractions and calls and makes the reservations for. what could be better. Also she has a large return rate. The rooms are also very comfortable. I Iove Sandi.

Room Tip: All are good. She seems to pick the best room for you. The house returns is very large, You can h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmac54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

While on our visit to Rotorua we decided to stay in a B&B rather than an other accomodation. Sandi was very welcoming, informative, with a good sense of humor. It's hard to miss the place, as it stands out amongst the other buildings. And this standing out is what we liked about the place. That and the fact that we got the vacation rental in the back. We litteraly got an entire house for the price of a selfcatering. With 3 bedrooms, a fully equiped kitchen, dining room and spacious livingroom and a private garden: we were set not only to stay, we could have subrented the place. Good parking space, quiet and comfortable; all you can expect from a place but with oodles of space. Sandi and her husband were very friendly and know the area like their own backyard (which, to be fair, it is). She even gave us some tips on our further travels down the road and a little present for our son. Home away from home!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.1 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#28 of 92 in Rotorua
818 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lakeview Heights Farm Stay
Lakeview Heights Farm Stay
#14 of 52 in Rotorua
89 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rotorua Motel
Rotorua Motel
#5 of 52 in Rotorua
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
388 reviews
3.8 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
507 reviews
2.4 mi away
Victoria Lodge
Victoria Lodge
#13 of 52 in Rotorua
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandi's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandi's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 103 Fairy Springs Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: $58 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing