We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rotorua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandi's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 53 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Sandi's was a great place to stay in Rotorua. It is located away from the strong smell of the city! Sandi was so lovely, warm and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she was very helpful. Sandi definately loves Rotorua and loves sharing it with visitors. She booked us in at the Maori Mitai Village for dinner and a show and we were not disappointed with it. She even did our washing for us!!

When we returned for the night, the light was on and bed already pulled back which we found lovely. . Her door was always open if we needed anything. Breakfast was fantastic - a beautiful fresh fruit salad, toast, yoghurt, juice, tea and coffee.

The pool facilities were an added bonus. Great place to stay, great price. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OddAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    18
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
56
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

Staying at Sandi's was a delightful experience. After an exhausting drive we were met with a warm smile and put completely at ease. Did we have any washing that she could do for us? Had we any plans for the evening? What would we like for breakfast? We set off with an itinerary and recommendations (which proved entirely reliable) and after a thoroughly enjoyable evening returned to find our room toasty warm. Breakfast appeared at the door right on the appointed time, with further recommendations for making the most of our stay. The room was comfortable, quiet, spotlessly clean and with all the facilities one could want. What made it special was Sandi herself - helpful, friendly, courteous and determined to make our stay memorable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonchapman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Close to the centre of Rotorua by car, we were given a really warm welcome by Sandi on arrival. We stayed in the chalet, which was right next to the pool and even though the property is on the roadside, it was lovely and quiet. The chalet was very clean, comfortable and we had a lovely breakfast on both mornings delivered to our door! Sandi was attentive without being at all nosy or pushy and gave us lots of ideas of where to go and things we could do. We came back from dinner on our first evening to find the bed had been turned back, the lights over the bed switched on and the curtains drawn - we felt really looked after! We will always remember staying here, from the mannequin enjoying the sun by the pool, to the flowery fairy lights over the bed, to Sandi herself, who was the loveliest hostess.

Room Tip: The chalet was great as it is a quiet and detached and you don't feel like you are staying at so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaggy_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We were given such a warm welcome at Sandi's B&B that we wished we could have stayed longer than 2 nights! Although we had booked the Lynmore Chalet, we were upgraded to the Holiday Home upon arrival and it felt just like home! Cooked breakfast was delivered to our door every morning with a big smile by Sandi herself. She made a booking for us at Maori Mitai Village. She got our laundry out of the washing machine into the drier while we were out that night so it would be done would be ready when we came back! Sandi was simply so helpful in every way that she made us feel sad when we had to leave!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Varanasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed four nights here and it was lovely -- the accommodations are clean, quiet, and comfortable. A hot, delicious breakfast was delivered to us every morning (eggs, bacon, hash browns, cereal, juice, fruit, etc.). Sandi and her husband Mark are friendly and helpful; they suggested things to do, drove us around town, and helped us with bookings. Guests have all the privacy they desire, while Sandi's door is open to everyone. Thanks for a great time; we'd recommend Sandi's to any of our friends. While you're in Rotorua, also check out Whakarewarewa thermal village, and Wai-O-Tapu park. Wonderful experiences.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skippycanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

We spent our first night in New Zealand at Sandi's bed and breakfast. We were very pleased with the room and most importantly the service. Sandi, the owner was very attentive and always going out of her way to make sure we got everything we needed. We stayed in the Lynmore Chalet which was tastefully decorated with a comfortable bed and heated blanket which proved to be very useful on a cold rainy night (given I'm from the sizzling hot Thailand).

Sandi was very nice and generous so was her entire family. We had a chance to come up to their home and were treated with a delicious cake and gigantic New Zealand mussels (hmmm so good) from a small party they'd had on the day we arrived.

The location was good as it was on the main street and only a few minutes drive to Skyline Rotorua.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AumAroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

All the reviews are true. Sandi is a really friendly host who will serve you breakfast with eggs cooked your choice, provide free laundry service and help you in any way. The rooms are very clean, comfy and cosy and come with everything you need - ensuite bathroom, hairdryer, kettle, fridge, flatscreen TV and free internet access. Best part is that the rooms are self contained standalone units in the garden so you get lots of privacy. No sulphur smells. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Friendship88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
2.1 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
3.8 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 53 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#5 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandi's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandi's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sandi's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 103 Fairy Springs Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing