We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and comfy stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
Ranked #59 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm and comfy stay”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed at this motel for the first time as a fly buys guest. I had a lower floor one bedroom unit which was large and spacious, lovely and sunny. The heating is fantastic as its a radiator type on the wall, i was never cold at all in the room.
Big comfy bed in the bedroom, lovely big outdoor spa that you fill up, really enjoyed this at night to soak away the aches.
Bathroom is pretty in need of a refurb as this is an older property. Peach coloured shower and formica walls and ceiling.
Kitchen was well equipped with two hotplates and a microwave.
Matthew the owner was very pleasant and helpful, they have a great coffee machine in reception that he offered to bring me a cup to the unit.
Thanks for a nice stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachman335, Owner at Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Thanks for all the kind words. It's wonderful that you enjoyed the stay here.

We are constantly working on the refurb. Hopefully, next time you swing by, the old stuff can be all gone. Finger crossed.

Wish you all the best.

Matthew & Aggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    44
    25
    10
    10
See reviews for
36
61
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

we stayed for 2 nights and so received a complimentary continental breakfast each morning, which was much appreciated.
The room was large, clean, and tastefully decorated.
The double spa bath, complete with lavender oil, was wonderful
This motel had everything that we wanted at a reasonable price, what more could we have wanted.
Good luck to Matthew and Aggie with your new venture, We are sure you will do well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachman335, Owner at Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Thanks, my love, for the time and kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed the stay.

We are trying hard since the take-over to update the property and not to be get broke because of it. LOL. Knock on the wood.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

All the best,
Aggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

What a dump. We should have realised when we arrived and the receptionist was dressed in track pants and a T. A further clue should have been the little jug of milk that was poured in front of us, and handed to us at reception, when asked if we would need milk for coffee in the morning.
Then we got to the room. I thought we had unlocked the door to Bosnia. Mismatched styles, fabrics and colours. See accompanying photos. The grotty filthy spa bath and tv plonked on top of two coffee tables was a real treat. Then there was the secondary tv behind that one. Why? No idea. We could go on, but we end the way we begin...what a dump!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gregtrevGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachman335, Owner at Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We are sorry that it turned out a disappointment for you and we are grateful that you took the time to leave the valuable feedback.

Regarding the TV, it was a big shame that we hadn't given you a heads-up upon check-in. Being famous for its thermal attraction, Rotorua does corrosive damage to home appliances due to the sulfur in the air. Motels and even hotels in Rotorua rent TV from third party. Unfortunately, the TV in your room broke down before your stay and what's worse; the third party was not able to either send or replace it due to the public holidays of Easter and ANZAC. So we put another TV sets into your room on top of two coffee tables stacked together to make it the right viewing height. Sorry that we haven't thought about the aesthetic side of this solution so it upset you.

We appreciate your suggestion about the dressing style of our receptionist. However, we respect our staff's choice especially during holiday weekends as long as he/she gets the job done effectively around reception.

Giving milk in a jug is quite a normal practice in motels. But we are always happy to do it differently if you could have advised specifically, be it more milk or in a carton.

Regarding the spa bath, People come to Rotorua for great spa bath. Not only that, we believe that hospitality is rooted in cleanness more than anything in the first place. So we are most committed to ensuring cleanness day to day. Other reviews here would be best testimonial to our efforts.

The last but not the least, your review about the decor and color, with all due respect, is subjective. The new furniture and decor since December 2013 has been welcomed and recognized by our guests, old and new. But there is always room to do better. We will be more than happy to hear from regarding how we could improve the color, the fabric and etc if opportunity allows.

Thanks again.

-Matthew & Aggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay,just the night. We were undisturbed. The facilities were excellent & well-maintained. We had the room at the very end,& so were not disturbed by the traffic noise or otherwise. Considering they were full up,it was much appreciated.

Room Tip: We were in the last room at the very end(not sure if it was # 5 or 6). Very quiet & peaceful.Ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kshantanayar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachman335, Owner at Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to drop us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed the stay here. Looking forward to welcoming you again

Wish you all the best.

Matthew & Aggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihi, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The large bed was comfy, and the room clean and spacious. We enjoyed the double jacuzzi very much, Had trouble with the tele, it was replaced very promptly. We have stayed there before and we will again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddog2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachman335, Owner at Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to drop us a review. We're happy that you enjoyed the stay here. Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Wish you all the best.

Matthew & Aggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed one night. Needing to eat, we had to walk a long way to reach the town centres restaurant area. The nearest restuarant was full. The large bed was comfy, and the room clean and spacious. We enjoyed the double jacuzzi very much. The car parking area was a bit tight but not a problem.
The staff were very helpful on which tour to choose to see the sights which were just up the road a little way.
The distinctive smell of Rotorua got to me in the end. Take perfume and aftershave!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JazzLovers73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachman335, Owner at Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to drop us a review. We're happy that you enjoyed the stay here. Jacuzzi is quite the reason for the visit to Rotorua to wind down. Wonderful that it well served you.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Wish you all the best.

Matthew & Aggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
269 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile


My previous experience of Rotorua motels was pretty poor so it was with trepidation I arrived at the Comfort Inn. What a pleasant surprise. The room was huge, pleasantly decorated with a comfy bed, Easy chairs, a good dining table, CD player even an iPhone Dock (though it might have been good if adapters for iPod classics had been supplied). The kitchen was a good size although you needed to be very tall to reach the glasses.
The bathroom consisted of a shower cubicle (with a shower head placed again at a height for giants), and a huge jacuzzi.
Overall this was a winner and given I have stayed in 20 motels over the last 7 weeks, this is no mean praise. Yes it is at the southern end of the motel strip but given I drove everywhere it hardly mattered.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachman335, Owner at Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
HI,

Thank you a lot for the recognition!! It is such a delight and honor to learn that your are happy with us.

Not sure have you tried the BLUETOOTH connection function of the iPhone dock or not. You could stream music from iPod to the dock via BLUETOOTH. Isn't it wonderful to have your own playlist around while traveling~: )

Thanks again for the valuable remarks. Wish you all the best!

Sincerely,
Matthew & Aggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Wylie Court Motor Lodge
Wylie Court Motor Lodge
#40 of 92 in Rotorua
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#45 of 92 in Rotorua
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 92 in Rotorua
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
3.4 mi away
Fairy Springs Motel
Fairy Springs Motel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apex on Fenton
Apex on Fenton
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel

Property: Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
Address: 335 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Coachman Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#40 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern decored 19 spacious private Spa pool suite and studio units with full-sized kitchenett. Free large BBQ lawn. iPhone/Android music dock station and FREE WI-FI. Stay connected or unplugged! Caring hosts stand ready to help plan trip in and beyond Rotorua with a complimentary cup of NESPRESSO capsule coffee available upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing