We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
Ranked #59 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Comfort Inn and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Our large upstairs unit had separate toilet and bathroom areas. Kitchen facilities included a microwave, hotplate and larger fridge than in many motel units. The spa bath was quite large and most welcome after a long day's walk. The hosts Gwenda and Warren were friendly and helpful. Warren went out of his way to immediately replace our TV when it broke down.
We would have no hesitation in returning to this motel and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samandjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    44
    26
    10
    10
See reviews for
36
63
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The unit we stayed in was VERY dated and in desperate need of refurbishment throughout. Especially the bathroom ! The unit we had was ground floor with stairs going up to the next level directly infront of our entrance. This contributed to the overall feeling that the unit was dark and dingy. The TV hotel inspector Alex Polizzi would have a field day here.
On the plus side the outside was very presentable with well kept planting.
The only redeming thing inside our unit was a modern TV with plenty of Sky channels.

Room Tip: Try another motel after doing plenty of research
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sim0nSaystravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachman335, Owner at Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

This is Matthew Shi & Aggie Zhang, the new owner of Comfort Inn Coachman since 3rd, Dec, 2013.

We've done the retrofit for all the major furniture and all the lighting in every guest room, which would present a warm and chic atmosphere for every of our guest.

We really hope we could have your stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We had a studio unit. The room was spacious, extremely tidy and comfortable. Lots of little extras like plenty of towels, flannels, magazines etc. The super tub was great. We had a north facing unit and the balcony got plenty of sun. The staff were really friendly as well. I highly recommend it and would love to go back sometime.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Great looking from the outside but inside - oh dear! We had a GF 1 bedroom suite for 1 night at a cost of 120 NZD (potentially good value). Although it had a fair amount of space most of the equipment needed replacing and we got the impression that the whole place was badly in need of a complete refurb. Adjoining our bedroom was a mouldy roofed lean-to with a huge jacquzi; I shudder to think how many gallons of water it would take to fill it and at what energy cost. But they are into these things in Rotorua!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChristopherG-E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachman335, Owner at Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

This is Matthew Shi & Aggie Zhang, the new owner of Comfort Inn Coachman since 3rd, Dec, 2013.

We've done the retrofit for all the major furniture and all the lighting in every guest room, which would present a warm and chic atmosphere for every of our guest.

We really hope we could have your stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We booked a king room direct on their website, which meant we got a free breakfast each as it was a special
deal they were offering in march. This was one of the main reasons we booked. Room was very nice and spacious, flat screen tv with 40 sky channels was excellent! Massive spa bath too :) laundry room was $3 a go, with free soap powder. Free 50MB wifi too. Good location on the main street so easy to find, but no road noise in the night! Negatives: spa bath not particularly clean was a few hairs in there plus lots of limescale around the taps and plug. Service was ok they did help us with some bookings and changed up a $50, but nothing done with a smile and we felt like asking them was a hindrance to them somehow - was strange to have service like this as everywhere else in NZ has been very welcoming like we were returning old friends! This wouldn't necessarily stop me from booking this hotel again but it might surprise you if you have been travelling around the rest of NZ. Overall 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayleighTasha_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Coachman Comfort Inn Rotorua, Warren greeted us like old friends and escorted us to our unit which was excellent in every respect. The spa bath is a genuine Jacuzzi tub rather than an oversized bath and try as hard as I could to find something to fault I couldn’t, this motel sets a standard for others to follow.

Room Tip: If you have heavy bags request a ground floor unit in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne, Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This is a pleasant motel; maybe a little dated now but that doesn't detract from the comfort. The price was also good and the rooms are large and comfortable. The lady in charge let us into the room early, kindly, and was helpful. The motel is very near Whakarewarewa Maori Thermal Village which is worth a visit. My husband enjoyed the luge at the nearby Skyline Gondola and Luge! We'd recommend this motel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italophile27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Wylie Court Motor Lodge
Wylie Court Motor Lodge
#41 of 92 in Rotorua
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#47 of 92 in Rotorua
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#12 of 92 in Rotorua
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairy Springs Motel
Fairy Springs Motel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apex on Fenton
Apex on Fenton
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
340 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Glow Motel
Golden Glow Motel
#34 of 92 in Rotorua
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel

Property: Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
Address: 335 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Coachman Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#40 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern decored 19 spacious private Spa pool suite and studio units with full-sized kitchenett. Free large BBQ lawn. iPhone/Android music dock station and FREE WI-FI. Stay connected or unplugged! Caring hosts stand ready to help plan trip in and beyond Rotorua with a complimentary cup of NESPRESSO capsule coffee available upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing