We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly enjoyable!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Te Puia

Te Puia
Book In Advance
More Info
$36.76*
and up
Te Puia Maori Arts and Crafts Institute with Optional Cultural Performance
Ranked #6 of 108 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Te Puia spans 70 hectares within the historic Te Whakarewarewa Valley, on the edge of town. We are home to the world famous Pohutu geyser, to mud pools, hot springs, to silica formations to the Kiwi bird and the national schools of wood carving, weaving, stone and bone carving. We have shared these treasures with manuhiri (visitors) for 170 years and proudly continue that legacy today.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly enjoyable!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Firstly I have to say is that I am gutted that I didn't see the pohutu gyser in all its glory. We sat at the geyser from 4:10pm-5:20pm and it did not go off, 2-3 times an hour my ar$e. Anyway this is not the parks fault and I blame mother nature for disappointing me as this was the sole purpose of our visit to the park. We Arrived just After midday missing the 12pm guided tour so we went and had some lunch which was a very good feed and reasonably priced. We went for the 1pm tour with Carla and she was a delight. Very knowledgeable and answered all questions thrown at her with ease, explaining in detail so you never walked away thinking she hasn't answered the question. We went for the 3:15pm Moari concert and again it was well presented and they got us up on stage to show us the haka. After that tried to see geyser and the least said about that the better. Spent way too much money in the gift shop and drove our of the parking bay just shy of 7pm. If you really want to see ageyser I suggest you see the Lady Knox geyser as they help it to erupt.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pyr077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TePuia, Manager at Te Puia, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Kia Ora !

Thanks for your kind words and we'll be sure to let Carla know you mentioned her especially.

Yes our Pohutu does tend to throw wobbly's every blue moon and apologies that this coincided with the time you were down in the valley! it does change with tectonic activity too Pohutu plays for around half an hour on a roughly hourly basis but you're right she is fully natural and she always wins!

Thanks for spending so much time with us too we're very thankful for that.

Happy travels!

Nga mihi nui Te Puia Whanau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,799
    1,157
    356
    95
    41
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Real Geology & Culture too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

An amazing place to see. This was one of the highlights of our New Zealand visit. The guides provided an insight into the Maori history and culture and also gave good clear explanations about the geothermal activity of the region. The tour was well organised and gave plenty of opportunities for taking photographs. The sites, sounds and the sulphurous smells were something worth witnessing first hand. As we were only in the region for 2 nights, this was a great place to get an overview of the culture and geology of the area. For me this was a 'bucket list' gem. Well worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank WaywardSouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TePuia, Manager at Te Puia, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Tena Koe

Thanks so much for your kind feedback, remember you're always welcome back we'd love to see you again.

Great photo too kapai!

Nga mihi nui Te Puia Whanau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing thermal spring and surrounding landscape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

The nature landscape in Te Puia was just amazing. A thermal spring was the best. Heated underground water sprayed out through earth crust. Smell of sulphur pervaded everywhere surrounding the spring. Small mud pools and thermal spring could be seen elsewhere and bubble emerged frequently. Excellent experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank weeburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TePuia, Manager at Te Puia, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Kia Ora Weeburn

Thanks for the amazing feedback!

Happy travels

Nga mihi nui Te Puia Whanau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Maori experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Huge like for the Maori guide who was really enthusiastic. The whole place is amazing, full of geothermal activities, highly recommended especially if you don't have too much time in Rotorua and want to see everything in one place (geyser, kiwi bird, mud pool, Maori culture)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TePuia, Manager at Te Puia, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Kia Ora!

Thanks for the great feedback and the great explanation of what we have here.

We hope to see you again soon!

Nga mihi nui Te Puia Whanau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincumber, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Culture Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Lots to learn about re the ongoing college they provide to keep the culture alive to the young. Interesting guide to share own story behind this place and the reat scenery.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TePuia, Manager at Te Puia, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Kia Ora Debbie,

Thanks for the great points you shared. We appreciate you taking the time to come and visit us!

Nga mihi nui Te Puia Whanau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Te Puia also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Te Puia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing